books on the "shelf of 10"

11 books for my “Shelf of 10” reading list

A few months ago, a friend from my book club mentioned that she was trying out something she found from someone she follows on her Twitter Feed (it looks like, according to my Google-Fu, that Twitter user @joe_hill proposed the first Shelf of 10).  The idea is we all have books we keep meaning to read, but just…never get around to it.  As a voracious reader who has a hard time actually getting to some of the “older” books I own (I always want to read the new, shiny stuff I just got…), as well as someone who tends to read 4-5 books at one time, I thought this was an excellent idea.  In the next couple of days, I gathered up the books I’d been meaning to get around to and picked out 10 of them.  My first “shelf of 10” included:

Awakened, A House of Night novel, PC and Kristin Cast
Paul is Undead, Alan Goldsher (in progress, the Beatles as Zombies)
Body Count, P.D. Martin (in progress, australian FBI agent chasing a serial killer that abducted a fellow agent and friend)
Curse of the Spellmans, Lisa Lutz (in progress, PI family “memoir” style book as told by the eldest daughter)
The Mermaid Chair, Sue Monk Kidd (no clue, but it’s supposed to be good)
Isabelle, Kelly Gregson Plante (werewolf book)
The Royal Treatment, Mary Janice Davidson (no clue, but I like her vampire queen series)
In Cold Blood, Truman Capote (rare nonfiction, saw most of Capote on Thanksgiving morning and was intrugued)
Gone, Jonathan Kellerman (shrink who solves crime, series)
Daughters of the North, Sarah Hall (dystopic future fiction)
High Hunt, David Eddings

Again, that is also 11 books, but the first 4 were books that I had started and was making no progress on because…well, I was reading 4 books at once.  The first one listed was the one I picked to finish first, and was, technically not on the shelf of 10.  I managed to make my way through 9 of the 10–I never did actually get into High Hunt.  High Hunt…well, I read the first few pages and it really didn’t hold my interest.  I love David Eddings’ writing (until it got too repetitive), but High Hunt was…not very good.

I really enjoyed all of the books, except for Isabelle.  I didn’t realize until I actually started the book that it was a vanity press novel.  540 pages of…okay writing.  I am proud of myself for finishing it, though.

I found myself, again, starting to start books, but not finish them again, so it was time to break out the Shelf of 10 again, which I named “Shelf of 10 redux” on my Goodreads shelves.  You can see the current shelf pictured at the top of the page, and the books selected are:

Awakenings, D.S. Toles
Double Dexter, Jeff Lindsay
A Long Fatal Love Chase, Louisa May Alcott
A Slaying in Savannah by Jessica Fletcher and Donald Bain
(blank spine)On the Downbeat by Kylan Toles
Evernight, Claudia Grey
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
Edenville Owls by Robert B Parker
Bitten by Kelley Armstrong
The Twelve Kingdoms: Sea of Shadow by Fuyumi Ono
A Lion Among Men by Gregory McGuire

This shelf includes books by friends (Awakenings and On the Downbeat), some classics (Friend Green Tomatoes and Fatal Love Chase), some YA (Evernight, Edenville Owls, Twelve Kingdoms), some paranormal (Bitten), some general fiction (A Lion, Double Dexter), and the obligatory “bad” book (Savannah).  I think it’s a good mix and I’m looking forward to diving headfirst into it!

My shelf of 10 only includes print books, NOT anything on the Kindle Fire my brother got me for my birthday this year.  It looks like I may have to start a “Kinde Fire Shelf of 10” though…

If you are interested in checking out or purchasing the books by D.S. Toles or Kylan Toles, you can find them at:

On the Downbeat at CreateSpace.com
e-book format coming soon!

Awakenings by D.S. Toles at Createspace.com
at Smashwords.com (e-book format)

Published in: on June 29, 2012 at 10:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/43/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. great post


Add to the flood

