Top Ten Tuesday

I picked this up out of a blog I follow (The Librarian who doesn’t say Shhh) who, in turn got it from a blog she follows (The Broke and the Bookish).  It sounds like a lot of fun, so I think I’ll be participating!

This week’s topic is  Top Ten Books For People Who Like X Book, where I get to pick the book.  This is particularly difficult, because…how can you pick just one book?  I’ve always had a hard tim answering the question “What is your favorite…” anything, because with all of the great stuff out there, how can you pick just one?  I have finally picked an answer to the movie one, because while it’s not my ultimate favorite (of which I couldn’t tell you WHAT movie was), it is definitely in the upper echelon of my top ten.  So whenever I get asked “What’s your favorite movie?” I’ll now always reply with “Moulin Rouge.”  I just can’t resist a singing Ewan McGregor, and the “Roxanne” scene…I just love it.
Oh, that was a tangent.  Back to Top Ten Books for People Who Like…The Thorn Birds (I love that book.  It’s not my favorite, but one of my favorites)
Top Ten Books for People who Like The Thorn Birds
1.  Outlander by Diana Gabaldon–the first book in the Outlander series tells the tale of a woman named Claire, who journeys from 1940s Scotland to late 1700s Scotland and is forced to marry a Scotsman in order to save her life.  Another one of my favorites.  I’ve read the cover off of one copy, and the second copy I sent to a friend to get signed by Diana herself, so I have to stop myself from reading it too much, so that cover doesn’t fall off.
2.  The Luxe by Anna Godbersen–the first in The Luxe series.  In the late 1800s, high society maiden Elizabeth Holland is set to marry Henry Schoonmaker.  On the surface, it is a good match, but Elizabeth loves another.  Her little sister, Diana, has fallen in love with her older sister’s fiance, and her best friend plots to steal him away from Elizabeth.  The writing is a little dry (I believe the author is trying to capture the tone and writings of the period), but the story will suck you in.
3.  Heart of the Hunter by Linda Ann Wulf–Fianna defies her father and goes into the Royal Woods.  While in there, she witnesses something terrible, and is rescued by a nameless boy.  Years later, her father dies and Fianna’s mother moves her and her little sister to Dinsmore Hall.  Soon after, Fianna’s mother goes missing and she stumbles into the man she saw in the woods years earlier.  And who is the mysterious Gareth who proclaims to hate her but yet follows her into the woods every time she steps foot in there?  This book is a little overwritten, and there are some scenes that had me howling with laughter, but overall it was a good read.
4.  Phantom by Susan Kay–a fantastic retelling of The Phantom of the Opera.  The Phantom is Erik, who grew up in a carnival freak show, and tells how he ended up as the Phantom of the Opera.  It’s a wonderful book (it’s also been quite a while since I’ve read it…so I’m a little fuzzy on the details)!
5.  The Starter Wife by Gigi Levangie–Gracie’s husband drops her by text message and takes up with a younger celebrity.  The book chronicles her life post divorce, from dealing with her daughter to running into her ex husband and his new girlfriend.
6.  Flight into Spring by Bianca Bradbury–Southerner Sally Day marries a northern soldier after the Civil War.  She doesn’t adjust well to the colder climate of the north–both weather and social.  She’s used to the friendly southern culture.  Another YA book, but it’s very well written, and is one of my favorites from my early teen years.
7.  The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd–Jessie’s mother is very ill, so Jessie flies back to the island of her childhood, a place she has vowed to not set foot on again.  Years ago, when she was a child, her father died in a boating accident that was blamed on the pipe she gave him for Father’s Day that year.  While caring for her mother, she befriends a new monk, and they embark upon an affair that Jessie tries to hid from everyone, especially her husband.  This book is beautifully written, and the story flows wonderfully.
8.  Summer Sisters by Judy Blume–Vix spends the summer with her friend Caitlin, but they are only friends during the summer, as Caitlin is rich and attends a different school.  Vix is swept up in Caitlin’s world every summer, and the book follows the two girls throughout those summers and the years following.  I read the pants off of this book when I got it, and the only reason I haven’t read it in a while is…I seem to have misplaced my copy during a move.  Sad!
9.  A House Like a Lotus by Madeline L’Engle–Polly O’Keefe travels to Athens after learning something hurtful about a friend.  In Greece, she meets a mysterious rich boy, Zachary.  I love Madeline L’Engle books so much, my favorite being a Swiftly Tilting Planet.
10.  Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning–okay, this one’s a bit of a reach…but Mikayla is searching for her sister’s killer in Scotland, and she’s oddly drawn to the bookshop owner who keeps saving her butt from different dangers.  It’s a paranormal book, full of faeries and demons and things that go bump in the night.  I got this for free on my iPhone (back before Apple put all the other iPhone booksellers out of business), and really enjoyed it.  It’s part of a series, and the third book, Faefever, just missed being on my current shelf of 10.
That was harder than it looked, but it was a lot of fun to scroll through my “read” list on Goodreads picking out books to put on this list.
Published in: on July 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/top-ten-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad you started doing Top Ten Tuesday! Did you link your post on the Broke and the Bookish post? I’ve found linking on their linky brings me lots of readers, and helps me connect with all kinds of bloggers!

    • I did! Though next time I’ll know how to actually put my name in so it doesn’t just say “Shelley”. I really enjoy your blog! 🙂


Add to the flood

