Top Ten Tuesday!

It’s that time of the week again!  Top Ten Tuesday!  This week’s topic is the Top Ten books you’ve read during the life of your blog.  As always, click on the picture to be taken to The Broke and the Bookish, sponsors of Top Ten Tuesday!

My blog started on June 25th, 2012.  My list might be short…oh dear, I may have a problem…my Goodreads page is saying I’ve read 30 books since June 25th.  Is that even possible?  Okay, that was a short story, I won’t count that one (Swim by Jennifer Weiner), and that one was more of “creative nonfiction essays”, so I won’t count that one, either (Drinking with Dead Women Writers), so that leaves me with 28.  Holy crow I read a lot.  I also have a bad habit of only looking through the top 100 Free on my Kindle, so I read a *lot* of free crap that I probably shouldn’t…but it’s FREE!  The only problem with free is it’s generally self or small press published and barely (if at all) edited.  I kind of wish I had hard copies of most of these free ebooks, because my red pen would get a WORKOUT with all the word misuses, comma errors, and for the LOVE OF PETE, PEOPLE, APOSTROPHE S DOES NOT MAKE A WORD PLURAL.

In no particular order, I give you my Top Ten Books I’ve Read During the Life of My Blog (I’ve linked to the Goodreads pages of books you may not be familiar with):

1.  Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin–While I did not *start* this book during the blog, I certainly finished it after I started!  This book may hold the record for the amount of time it took me to finish it–it’s not that the book was bad (otherwise why would I put it on my top ten list?) it’s just the book itself is daunting–it must weigh seven pounds!  I like to read in bed, and there is just no comfortable way you can read a book like that in bed.  So…I think it took me almost six months to get through!

2.  UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn–one of my “free” Kindle ebooks.  I love fairy tales, and I love clever retellings of them.  UnEnchanted tells the tale of  Mina Grime, who doesn’t stay put in one location.  Every time something strange happens, her mother packs up her and her little brother and whisks them away to another location.  It turns out that Mina and her brother are the last of the Grimm family line (yes, *those* Grimms), and every Grimm is destined to live through each of the Grimm fairy tales until someone lives through them all.  And it’s not a cumulative effort–if a Grimm dies during a tale, the next one must start back at the beginning.

3.  A Long, Fatal Love Chase by Louisa May Alcott–Louisa May is one of my favorite authors, and this book caught my eye at a library book sale a couple of years ago.  I’d never heard of it, and it was fill a bag for $3 day, so in my bag it went.  Apparently, this book was “too scandalous” to be published during her lifetime, and someone bought her papers and published it in…the mid 1990s, I think.  It follows the story of Rosamund Vivian, who falls in love and marries Phillip Tempest.  It turns out that he’s…STILL MARRIED and is seeking a divorce from his wife.  Rosamund is angry and takes off…and Phillip follows her around the world.  FANTASTIC read!

4.  Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg–LOVE the movie, and my brother-in-law gave me his copy when I said I’d never read the book.  It’s one of those few movies that is fairly close to the actual storyline of the book.  Great read, even better than the movie.

5.  The Toadhouse Trilogy Book 1 by Jess Lourey–another free Kindle ebook.  Aine lives in 1930s Alabama with her blind brother and her grandmother.  She thinks she’s a normal kid until one day a horrible monster shows up trying to kidnap her and her brother.  Instead of being a normal kid, it turns out that Aine is living inside of a book!  Each book has a toadhouse hidden in it, which the fairies that write the stories use to travel.  A fairy named Gilgamesh shows up in a special toadhouse and rescues Aine and her brother, but he won’t tell her anything–“Ask your mother when you see her”.  A fun book for anyone who dreams of living in their favorite books.

6.  Awakenings by D.S. Toles–a steampunk novel!  I’m not into the whole steampunk thing, so it took me a while to get used to this book.  Once I did, though, I could NOT put it down!  Written by a friend during NaNoWriMo, Awakenings is the first book in the Defective Device series.

7.  Clockwise by Elle Strauss–yet another free Kindle ebook.  Sensing a theme?  Clockwise follows the story of Casey.  Casey is a time traveller, travelling back to the 19th century.  She’s been careful about touching people skin to skin since she’d accidentally taken her best friend back in time with her before.  That, however, does not stop her from dancing with her crush…who she drags back to the 19th century with her.  This book started out very slowly (there was a time or two when I was very close to putting it on the DNF shelf), but about 1/3 of the way through, it really picks up and gets really exciting.

I think I’m going to stop there…I read a lot of crap…and man, I don’t think I could legitimately put any more books on this list.  My full list of 3o books:

1.  Dead Running by Cami Checketts (Kindle ebook)
2.  Initiation (Vampire Beach book 2) by Alex Duval
3.  Once Bitten by Trina Lee (Kindle ebook)
4.  Goats Eat Cans vol.1 by Steven Novak (Kindle ebook)–this book is terrible.  Do not read it.  Please.
5.  Just Evil by Vickie McKeehan (Kindle ebook)
6.  A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin
7.  Clockwise by Elle Strauss (Kindle ebook)
8.  Awakenings by D.S. Toles (book 1 on my new Shelf of Ten)
9.  Drinking with Dead Women Writers by Elaine Ambrose (Kindle ebook)
10.  Darkhouse by Karina Halle (Kindle ebook)
11.  Eerie by Blake and Jordan Crouch (Kindle ebook)–the ending of this book was SO DUMB and SO NOT SCARY like I was expecting.
12.  UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn (Kindle ebook)
13.  Revenge of the Homecoming Queen by Stephanie Hale (Kindle ebook)
14.  Double Dexter by Jeff Lindsey–not my favorite Dexter book.  Had to restart it 4 times before I could get into it.
15.  Someone Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead by Christina Miller (Kindle ebook)
16.  Smart Mouth Waitress by Dayla Moon (Kindle ebook)
17.  A Long Fatal Love Chase by Louisa May Alcott
18.  The Moon Coin by Richard Due (Kindle ebook)
19.  Hollywood Scandals by Gemma Haliday (Kindle ebook)
20.  A Slaying in Savannah by Jessica Fletcher and Donald Bain
21.  By Leaps and Bounds by Jaqueline Diamond
22.  13 Years in America by Melanie Steele (Kindle ebook)–Kickstarter backed non-fiction book.  I kind of wanted to smack Melanie when I finished this book.
23.  To Kill a Warlock by H.P. Mallory (Kindle ebook)
24.  Evernight by Claudia Grey
25.  Stargazer (Evernight #2) by Claudia Grey
26.  The Toadhouse Trilogy book 1 by Jess Lourey (Kindle ebook)
27.  Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
28.  Swim by Jennifer Weiner (Kindle ebook)–more of an advertisement for the book than a short story, as over 1/2 of the “book” was actually about the book.  Meh.
29.  The Bridesmaid Lotto by Rachel Astor (Kindle ebook)

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/top-ten-tuesday-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thirty books since June is pretty amazing! I haven’t read A Dance With Dragons yet, I just finished the fourth book and I’m having a bit of a break before diving back into Westeros! I love the series, but they’re such huge books and I agree they take a while to finish. Thanks for stopping by!

    • I’m a bit of an insomniac, and since I got my Kindle, it makes it easier to read in bed while my husband sleeps. He goes to bed at 10-11, I generally can’t fall asleep til 2 am….so I get a lot of reading in then.

  2. A Long Fatal Love Chase sounds good, will look into that one.

    • It was excellent! Of course, what was considered scandelous in her time isn’t quite so in our times…but still, a guy duping a pretty young woman into marrying him while he’s still married? Still pretty bad!

  3. Wow 30 books since June! And I haven’t read a single one of them 🙂

    • My brother got me a Kindle Fire for my birthday, and a lot of my reading comes from the top 100 free books….because, well, they’re free. I’ve spent a grand total of…um….$5.99 on books for it. So I read a LOT of crap that no one’s heard of before. 😀

      • Now that even more amazing, brothers that remember birthdays and 30 books for 5.99! 🙂

      • Oh, I think I have almost 75 books on my Kindle…the 30 on the list is a mix of Kindle and real books. I have to make myself stay OFF the 100 top free, because otherwise I’ll NEVER get through them all!


Add to the flood

