Top Ten Tuesday!

It’s Tuesday again, which means it’s time for TOP TEN TUESDAYS!  As always, click on the banner to be taken to the sponsor of TTT, The Broke and the Bookish!

Top Ten Books On Your Fall To-Be-Read List

(crap I read my #1 TBR book this week, but I’ll tell you what it is:  Spookygirl:  Paranormal Investigator by Jill Baguchinsky.  Excellent YA read GO READ IT NOW!)

1.  Edenville Owls by Robert B. Parker–the next on my “shelf of 10 redux” list

2.  A Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire–the FINAL book on my “shelf of 10 redux” list.  It’s book #11.  No, I can’t just pick 10 books…:D

3.  City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (Kindle)–I picked this up when Amazon had it on sale for $.99 for the Kindle.  I’ve been saving it for when I just can’t take any more poorly written/poorly edited free books, and I think after my current read (The Childe, which has surprisingly good reviews considering how bad it actually is…), I will have hit that wall…

4.  The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien–with the movie coming out soon, it’ll motivate me to actually read this.  My friends got me really really really nice copies of The Hobbit and The LTR trilogy as a bridesmaid’s gift for their wedding, and it’s still in the original plastic.  Sometimes having a nice copy of something keeps me from reading it, because I’m afraid I’ll mess it up…

5.  Faefever by Karen Marie Moning–I’ve had my copy of this for ages and it just barely didn’t make the shelf of 10.

6.  Black Magic Sanctum/Pale Demon/A Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison–a friend sent me the ARC for A Perfect Blood a while back, reminding me exactly how far behind I was on my Hollows reading…but I picked up Pale Demon out of the clearance section of B+N and Black Magic Sanctum not long after.  LOVE clearance sections!

7.  Little Star by John Ajvide Lindqvist–I won this through Goodreads, and am super excited to read it.

8.  Seaweed by Elle Strauss (Kindle)–I’m hoping that it’s as cute as Clockwise was, and this is another Kindle book I’ve been “saving” for when I get tired of the crap.  😀

9.  Adventures in Funeral Crashing (Kindle) by Milda Harris–I found this through TTT, actually.  I stumbled on her blog while reading through TTT lists.

10.  Impact by Douglas Preston–I love just about anything written by him or by Lincoln Child, especially when they write together.  I picked this up ages ago, and just haven’t gotten around to reading it.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/09/04/top-ten-tuesday-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So many great books on your list. I loved Faefever! It was one of my favorite books of the series. I hope you enjoy it!

    • I had to limit to books I actually own, because otherwise I would have *never* been able to pick just 10!
      I really need to read Faefever! I just saw on someone else’s list she has a new one that’s either out or coming out soon.

  2. Yes I love the cover of Unspoken too :).

    Ooooh you’re going to read City of Bones 😀 ! I love Cassandra Clare’s book ! I’ve just finished rereading City of bones by the way because i’m so excited seeing all these pictures from the set.

    I also love the Faefever series and I can’t wait to read the spin off now :). Iced is coming out soon 😀 !

    • Too soon! I need to finish off my shelf of 10 first! And then read Faefever! *flail* I think I need to send my husband off somewhere and then spend 2 days doing nothing but catch up on my reading!

  3. Ooh The Hobbit! @SavvyReader is doing a readalong of that 🙂 I read it after the Lord of the Rings movies came out… it’s JRR Tolkien so it’s quite the epic wordy read.. but a classic 🙂

    I’m excited to check out Spookygirl! I received it for review a couple weeks ago… Love that kind of stuff (I love the show Ghost Hunters, so totally up my alley!)

    Great list, and thanks for stopping by!

    Michele | Top 10 | Giveaway

    • Spookygirl’s a great read–its fun, it’s fast, it’s fantastic! I’ve known Jill for *ages*, and was so excited to actually be able to walk into a bookstore and buy a book she wrote!

  4. I just read the first three in the City of Bones series ~ they weren’t too bad I didn’t think. The fourth book I couldn’t hang with. I abandoned it and will go back to it later. Spooky Girl sounds exactly like a book I would read, I will have to check it out! Actually, your whole list sounds good!

    • I’ve heard lots of good things about Clare’s books, so I’m excited to get into this one!
      Spookygirl is an excellent YA read. 🙂

  5. Great list. Reminds me that I’m very far behind on the Hollows too, about 3 books back I think. There are so many great books, it’s difficult to find the time 🙂

    • My next Hollows read will be Black Magic Sanction. I just have to figure out when I’ll be reading it…with all the great books I have, it’s soooo hard to choose!

  6. City of Bones is a great book. Even though I have a hard copy, I considered buying it for .99 on Kindle too…

    The Hobbit is a good read too. It might have been the first fantasy book I ever read.

    • City of Bones has the distinction of being 1 of 2 books I’ve actually paid for for my Kindle. 😀 I love the top 100 free list a bit too much…

  7. Aaah, another fellow Preston/Child fan! Always good to meet one! Anything I’ve read by them individually has turned out pretty well, so I think you’ll enjoy it. Impact is also on my TBR list, though sadly, not in my top ten. A Lion Among Men and The Hobbit are also great choices!

    • I’ve read just about everything they’ve written, and most of them are *excellent*! I think the Cabinet of Curiousities is my all time favorite. So creepy!

  8. Excellent list! Hopefully you’ll get to read them all (for some reason I never finish my list).

    • I know I’ll read at least two of them, since they’re the last two on my shelf of 10. Hopefully I get to the rest before winter, too! 😀

  9. I read The Hobbit back when the first LOTR movie came out in theaters. I am super excited for the movies and really liked the book .(Wish it wasn’t split in 3 though but whatever-lol) I am a big fan of The Mortal Instruments series so I hope you like that one too! $.99 is a steal!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    ~Sara @ Forever 17 Books

    • I keep hearing/reading that people are wondering exactly how they got 3 movies out of The Hobbit…I mean…they did 3 movies for the entire trilogy, and somehow they’re doing 3 movies for ONE book? LOL! 😀

  10. […] I read them concurrently, not switch between the two mediums).  Also, you can check out my Fall TBR list, of which I’ve managed to read 6 of the 10 books I listed.  Not too shabby, […]


Add to the flood

