Top Ten Tuesday!

Hi and welcome to another Tuesday!  As always, click on the banner to be taken to The Broke and the Bookish, sponsors of TTT!

Top Ten Books That Make You Think

1.  Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell–when I was younger and reading the book, it made me think of how romantic the old South was, and how neat it would be to be a Southern Belle with the beautiful dresses and dozens of beaus just waiting to dance with me at the neighborhood BBQs.  Now, it makes me think about how slavery and war impacted not only the people back then, but how it still affects us today.  Reading parts of this book now just makes me cringe at the language that was commonplace up until recently.

2.  The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins–what if we did live in a society that made us sacrifice teenagers for whatever reason?  Would we rise up against the government that required it, or would we passively take it year after year?  What series of events would have to take place for us to even *get* to where the Hunger Games takes place?

3.  The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd–makes me despair that I could ever be a writer.  Every sentence in that book is carefully crafted, beautifully molded before being put on the page for us to read.  This book has a ton of bad reviews on Goodreads (I also have not read The Secret Life of Bees, but I did watch the movie when it was on Lifetime not to long ago), and I’m really not sure why, as it is beautifully and elegantly written.  Maybe it was just a little *too* perfect?  Probably not…I don’t think people liked the subject matter very much and couldn’t look past that to the lyrical and smooth writing.

4.  Summer Sisters by Judy Blume–one of the rare books I’d read cover to cover, sigh, then start right back over again.  It makes you think about the friendships you had when you were in elementary school, and wonder how you drifted so far away from those bosom buddies you thought you’d never leave behind.

5.  Any book by Lauren Conrad, Hillary Duff, Snooki, the Kardashians, etc–makes me think how on EARTH can these people get published (though I have to admit, despite a MAJOR plot flaw, Elixir by Hillary Duff was a surprisingly good read) when there are fantastic authors out there struggling to find an agent and get published.  I know that they have ghost writers mostly writing the books, but what I’ve read of them is just…abysmal and childish.
And yes, I know the answer to my question is “they’re famous!” but it still chaps my ass.  🙂

6.  A Case of Need by Micheal Crichton–first published in 1969, I read it for the first time last year.  It takes place when abortion was illegal, and the main character’s friend is accused of performing illegal abortions, one of which killed a patient.  With the hubbub surrounding women’s health and rights right now, it was a great novel to read and made me think about how much better our health care is now than it was in the 60s…but how those rights and health care are now in danger.

7.  13 Years in a America by Melanie Steele–written by a Canadian who marries an American, chronicling their lives for the past 13 years.  It’s fascinating both for the fact that I have friends who live that life (she’s Canadian, he’s American) and by the fact that the author has no problem pursing her dreams but at the same time won’t let her husband use his college degree and get a job that would provide well for their family.  This book was also a Kickstarter project, and you can find it for free on Smashwords.com.  Makes me wonder if Kickstarter would work for me…

8.  Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepherd–can someone really have the technology to do everything that A does as well as being able to keep up with and spy on all of our favorite Liars?  What would it take to be *that* good of a stalker?  Would it be possible AND go to high school maintaining a perfect front and a straight A average?  I…I really don’t think so?

9.  The In Death series by J.D. Robb–it’s set in the not so distant future, in a dark, dirty and gritty NYC post Urban Wars.  They have cars that can fly, space stations where you can live and vacation (such as Vegas II), and most of their food seems to be made out of flavored soy products.  When I read this series, which I believe is set in the 2050s, I wonder if this could (minus the fictional Urban War destruction) actually be somewhat close to what our future looks like.
It also makes me wonder why I like a series by Nora Roberts…but it’s not her usual drippy sappy crap–it’s actually *got* a storyline with a chaser of an awesome romance between hard cop Eve Dallas and former pick pocket turned millionaire playboy Rourke.

10.  Carry the One by Carol Anshaw–funny how one event can shape the lives of a group of friends–and how differently the react.  One turns to drugs and alcohol while another just tries to live a perfect life.  Makes me think about how I might react to something as tragic as the event that sent their lives spinning out of control, even if the effects aren’t felt for years to come.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/top-ten-tuesday-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You know, I agree about Gone With The Wind. I see it differently than I did when I first read it as a young girl. Either way, it’s an outstanding book. Great list!

    • LOVE the book, liked the sequel, and I have Rhett Butler’s people on my shelf waiting for me to read it.

  2. I totally forgot Gone With the Wind -.- Love the movie, too 🙂 And you have such a great list of books! I like that you haven’t only picked books from this and previous generation but from previous eras as well 🙂 + THG is like in every TTT I’ve seen today 😀 Shows you how much it’s appreciated. Love that book! And thank you for stopping by!

    Siiri @ Little Pieces of Imagination

    • Reading other people’s lists is making me to “I should have put The Memory Keeper’s Daughter on there! Oh, and Gift of the Dreamtime! DANGIT!
      I had a hard time with this list at first, but after the first 2-3 it got easy, and there are even several books I considered putting on there but they just didn’t make the cut in the end.

  3. Great list. Number 5 made me laugh because it’s sad but true.

    • I did read Joan Rivers’ book, and it was decent, as well, but I shudder to think how bad Snooki’s book is, ghostwriter or not!

  4. Is the PLL series anything like the show? I just watched all four hours of Gone With The Wind a month ago and I want to read it, but when I went to B&N it was like a dictionary it was so big (and that was the “pocket” size apparently lol). Thanks for stopping by today.

    • It is and it isn’t. LOL, that makes a whole lot of sense. It follows the story somewhat closely (more closely than, say, The Vampire Diaries), though it does deviate a bit, and at the end of the day, you can still tell you’re watching Pretty Little Liars.

      Gone with the Wind is a very large book, though mine is standard paper back size and is smaller than say Game of Thrones or any of the Wheel of Time series.

  5. #5- EXACTLY!!!! Ugh. So sad.


Add to the flood

