Top Ten Tueday!

It’s that day of the week again!  Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday, my favorite weekly feature.   As always, click on the picture to be taken to TTT sponsor, the Broke and the Bookish!  This week’s topic should be interesting!  My mind is already burbling–should I keep it to authors who are alive, or can I totally break the death barrier and include them, as well?  Hmmmm…
Wow, this is turning out to be harder than I thought…I think I’ll stick to people who are still alive!  Also, I haven’t been reading blogs for very long, so I think I’ll just stick to authors, mostly.

Top Ten Bookish People You Want To Meet

1.  Mercedes Lackey–her Valedemar series remains one of my all-time favorite series, though I have to admit that I’ve stopped picking up the Valdemar novels (I think To Take a Thief was the last one I read–and the plot holes and inconsistencies just did it in for me.  It read more like fanfiction than actual canon author written stuff).  I still love all of the originals, and I’ve read the crap out of all of the books of hers that I own.  Talia’s trilogy remains my favorite, with Vanyel’s coming in a close second.  Oh, and I’d love to have my very own Companion!

2.  Stephen King–the man is a *master*.  I also want to find out if he’s as creepy in person as his pictures seem to imply…and if he’s related at all to my 8th grade Homeroom/English teacher, because they have the same nose and last name…though she married into her name, so more than likely not.  Both, however, are masters in horror, she just specialized in a different brand…torturing me during my 8th grade year.

3.  Caroline B. Cooney–one of my favorite YA horror/scary novel authors from middle/high school.  Her imagery is just…awesome.  If you’ve ever read her “Loosing Christina” trilogy (The Fog, The Snow, The Fire), you know what I’m talking about.  I’d love to hear her talk about how she gets those words down on the page that can evoke such feelings and visuals–when she talks about the tide coming into Candlestick Cove, you almost feel like you are clinging to that barbed wire fence right next to Christina and Anya.

4.  Jill Baguchinsky–okay, I’m sneaking in one of my friends onto this list and YOU CANNOT STOP ME!  I met Jill online at least a decade ago through message boards of the My Little Pony persuasion.  She’s one of the people who introduced me to National Novel Writing Month.  Last year, she won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award, and this year her book, Spookygirl:  Paranormal Investigator was published by Penguin.  In her spare time, she wrangles monsters over at her Etsy shop Mint Conspiracy.  So she IS a bookish person, and while we’ve met online, we’ve never actually met in person…so on the list she goes.
P.S.  Her book is great, especially if you’re into YA paranormal type things.

5.  Meg Cabot–her stuff is all over the board–YA, adult, chic lit, paranormal…how does she do it?  And how does she keep all of her series straight?  Enquiring minds WANT TO KNOW!  Also, I think she’d be super fun to hang out with.  I mean, she does have that Cocktail promotion thing going around right now, right?

6.  Laurel K Hamilton–mostly, I want to just plead with her to take the Anita Blake series back to its origins, instead of the sex-fest the novels have become.  I miss ass kicking Anita, and the books having an actual plot that took longer than 40 pages to complete.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a prude with a problem with the sex-fest, but if I wanted to read that, I’d be reading her Meredith Gentry series–Anita used to be such a *strong* character with actual morals.  Now?  I dunno what to even say.

7.  Lee Child–he writes the Jack Reacher series, which is just…fantastic.  His fight sequences are out of this world, and his protagonist, a 6’5″ ex-military policeman just looms off the page.    I have to physically stop myself from reading the next Reacher book in the series too fast–I need to enjoy it!  He’s also one of the few authors that can write a series out of sequence (as in…the series does not move in a linear fashion, it’ll jump back in time to show why he left the military, to when his brother and mother are still alive, etc) and yet still not get inconsistencies and strange details that jar an avid Reacher reader out of the book and into “wait, hold on, didn’t that happen a different way in another book?”
He’s also somehow okay with Tom Cruise playing his hulking character.  Me?  I’m not–Jack Reacher is 6’5″ for crying out loud!  Tom Cruise barely tops, what, 5’6″ on a good day?  He’s a pint-sized Reacher!  😀

8.  Casey Daniels–while I briefly “met” her at the Buckeye Book Fair (and left with a totally awesome autograph in one of her newest books), I would rather have the opportunity to sit down and talk to her about being a writer in Ohio.  Her Pepper Martin books are set in a graveyard in Cleveland, so it gives me the shivers to read about places that are not even an hour away from me in a book.

9.  This one is going to be somewhat general, but…the head of one of the big publishing houses.  I’m not picky, just throw me one!  I’d love to hear about the publishing industry from someone who has such knowledge and power!  Heck, I’d even settle for a vice president of human resources, to be honest.  Just give me *someone* in publishing, people, anyone!

10.  Okay, he’s dead, but…Robert Jordan.  He died before he could finish his epic Wheel of Time series, and, well, I gotta know.  Does he think that Brandon Sanderson is doing his book(s) justice?  It was originally supposed to be a 12 book series, but Sanderson and the publishers broke that last book up into 3 books based on the notes Jordan left.  Would all of the stuff *in* the notes actually made it into the final book that HE wrote?  And, OMG, how does it END?  Is the end he envisioned happening actually being written, or is Sanderson putting his own spin on things?  I know I read somewhere that he actually *wrote* The Last Battle before he died (phew!), so hopefully that makes it in almost untouched.   And…why did he start a new trilogy when he hadn’t finished the Wheel of Time yet, knowing that his time on earth could be limited (the man was not young, and I’m pretty sure he had cancer)?

11.  Okay, since Robert Jordan’s dead, and she’s not…Beverly Cleary–I loved her books growing up, and honestly?  I was very like Ramona growing up–stubborn, messy, questioning everything in the world around me.  Even though most of her books were written in the 50s, 60s, and 70s…they still hold up today, and I recently purchased large copies of several of the Ramona books as Christmas presents for little girls to start loving Ramona like millions of other little girls.

Dead authors I’d love to meet:

Louisa May Alcott, J.R.R. Tolkien, Margaret Mitchell, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, L.M. Montgomery,  L. Frank Baum, Edgar Allen Poe, and William Shakespeare.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/top-ten-tueday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t know if it’s a good idea to meet Laurell K. Hamilton, she’s isn’t really receptive to criticism about the direction she took the Anita Blake books in. I think you would be a hater! I too wish for the old days of kick ass Anita, not sex crazy Anita. Boring and repetitive with little plot.

    • I doubt I’ll ever meet her, but it’s nice to wish that someday…maybe…she’ll go back to ass kicking instead of…taking it in the…:D

      • Ha. Wishful thinking I suspect

      • Considering all of the backlash as well as the loss of readership (all of my friends that read her as well as myself have stopped reading, and while loosing 5 readers doesn’t make or break an author, if *we’ve* stopped, we’re not the only ones) hasn’t changed her mind…nope, not gonna happen. I really really miss the old Anita.

  2. Oooh…Beverly Cleary is a good one! I forgot about her. Great list!

    • LOVE her books…and putting her on this list makes me want to go dig out my copies of her books, though I have no idea *where* there are. It’s also possible they got sold in a garage sale, too. Sad!

  3. Wow I LOVE your list!! The Losing Christina series was AWESOME… I mean I must’ve read The Fire 5 times in jr high! Plus The Face on the Milk Carton! IDK if you read those books but!!!!! Love! Anyhow Beverly Cleary is awesome too! And Stephen King was definitely on my list.

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    • I’ve read a bunch of CBC’s books, though I don’t think I’ve read the Face on the Milk Carton–I do need, to, though, as I have like…the 3rd book in that series (What Janie Knew, I think).

  4. I haven’t read much by the authors on your list, though I do have a pile of Lee Child books I got for my husband that I do want to read eventually — my to-read list is just too long! I also loved Caroline B. Cooney as a kid. It was a totally different direction for her, but I really liked her Both Sides of Time series.

    • You need to make room on your to read list ASAP for at least The Killing Floor. Then you’ll be hooked! 😀 I’m not a big fan of books from that genre (my husband and your husband would probably get along quite well, though), but his are just….fantastic. And so realistic!

      • Sometimes I just don’t know where to start! But recommendations help and I will definitely keep that one in mind.

      • I know how that is! I every so often will make up a “shelf of 10” books to read. I got the idea from a friend, who got it from someone on her Twitter feed. You put together a list of 10 books you’ve been meaning to read that just…get pushed back to “I’ll read later” that you just never get around to, and you make a pact with yourself to read THOSE 10 books next with no interuptions. If 10 is too much, you could always start with 5. Or even just 3, just to get started. 😀

      • That’s a fantastic idea! The hardest part will be narrowing the list down to just 10!

      • The last time I did it, I had 50 books laid out, and I must have spent an hour going through and putting books on and off the shelf lol!

  5. I LOVE the part on Stephen King! Hahaha. And yay for Louisa May Alcott!!!! Oooh, I didn’t even think of Mary Shelley. You have some really original picks there, Christine! 🙂

    • Thanks! I still wonder about Steven King and Mrs. King to this day, I think I even had a “story” made up where she was like…his mother in law or something. 😀


Add to the flood

