From my Kindle

I was going to title this “Crap from my Kindle”…but it’s not all crap, I swear!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m addicted to the Top 100 Free ebooks on my Kindle Fire.  Though lately…that list hasn’t been popping up for me in the Kindle Fire store…alas!  I thought I’d share with my blog the books that I’ve read in the month of September, picks and pans.  Enjoy!

1.  The Fallen Star by Jessica Sorrenson (finished 9/17)–The first book in the Fallen Star trilogy, I gave this three stars.  I enjoyed most of the book up until the ending, and the ending is what dropped this down from 4 stars to 3.
Well worth the read, especially since it was free.  Will probably not pursue the rest of the trilogy, however.

2.  The End of the World by Andrew Biss (finished 9/18)–a novella, this was a fast read.  It was a very very odd story that really has no discernible plot, which earned it 2 stars.
I only recommend this story if you like odd books with no direction, or are familiar with the story it is based on (Bardo from the Tibetan Book of the Dead).

3.  Adventures in Funeral Crashing by Milda Harris (finished 9/12)–I stumbled upon Ms. Harris’ blog while reading various Top Ten Tuesdays and noticed that she was offering the first book in her series for FREE!  You know me, I love free, so I picked my copy right away.  A very cute book about a girl in high school whose one hobby is crashing funerals.  I gave this one four stars I liked it so much.
If you like YA, you will LOVE this book.  I’ll probably be picking up more of the series once I get my “to read” list on my Kindle at a more manageable level (or I need a good book to break up the awfulness I tend to read on there).

4.  The Childe by the Kunz family (finished 9/9)–I gave a whopping one star to this hot mess of a book.  The authors don’t understand how to properly write a book and spend the entire thing bouncing around to different characters.  A little formatting could have made this book a lot less confusing, but not much.  This was another book where there seemed to be no discernible plot, and even when I finished it I had no idea what exactly what story the authors were trying to tell me.
Don’t bother with this book (free or not!), period.

5.  In Deep Voodoo by Stephanie Bond (finished 9/5)–a cute book about a woman whose ex-husband is murdered and she’s the main suspect.  I know, that doesn’t sound cute at all…but it’s chic lit.  It’s not fantastically written by any means (and it really felt like a “first novel”, though searching Amazon says that no, this is NOT her first novel), but it’s an easy read.  I gave In Deep Voodoo 3 stars.
I think this is a perpetually free novel, so if you like chic lit or cozy mysteries, it’s worth the price.

I’m currently reading a book I paid actual money for on my Kindle–City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.  It’s wonderful, and I’m really wishing that I’d picked up the sequel (City of Glass, I think?) when I saw it for cheap at Books A Million months ago.  Alas, I did not, because it was Book 2 of the series and I did not already own Book 1.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/from-my-kindle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Add to the flood

