Top Ten Tuesday!

It’s Tuesday!  Top Ten Tuesday is sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish, click on the picture to be taken to their blog!

I may have been a terrible blogger last week and …spaced on posting.  At all.  Oops.  But…there’s this little thing I like to play that came out with a new expansion…ON TUESDAY.  Shame on them!  But I’m back, and read for this week’s top ten list!

Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About

1.  The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough–this book popped up on my Goodreads feed recently when a friend added it to his “to-read” list.  This is one of my favorite books of all times (along with Gone with the Wind and A Swiftly Tilting Planet).  I’ve read about Meggie and her family dozens of time, and I own two copies of this book–a paperback version and a cover less hardback version I took from work (I got bored one day and started reading it, took it home to finish it, and then…kept it).

2.  The Last Herald Mage trilogy by Mercedes Lackey–the Heralds of Valdemar had a big hand in shaping my thinking about homosexuals and same-sex relationships–the Companions don’t care, why should I?  Lackey is also a fantastic writer, drawing you into the Kingdom of Valdemar and making you wish you were Chosen, too.

3. The Last Rune series by Mark Anthony–I don’t know anyone other than myself that have read this series, but it’s really good.  It’s about two “normal” people from Earth who somehow manage to get transported into the magical world of Eldh, and they are destined to save it.

4.  The Banned and the Banished series by James Clemens–the book starts with you having to sign a disclaimer (well, not really…) and then tells you the story of Elena.  It was the first fantasy series I read that actually killed off one of the main characters in the first book, and I found that very refreshing–don’t get me wrong, I love it when the good guys come through the battle unscathed as much as everyone else, but…in the real world, that just doesn’t happen.

5.  Earth’s Children (The Clan of the Cave Bear, etc) by Jean M. Auel–I’ve had the Plains of Passage on my TBR list since it came out (I bought the hardback soon after it was released) but haven’t managed to finish it.  I do, however, really enjoy the Earth’s Children books.  I read and reread Clan of the Cave Bear, and Valley of the Horses was my favorite in the series.

5.  The Wayside School series by Louis Sachar–I didn’t own these books growing up, my brother did, but I still think I read them more than he did.  There is no thirteenth story!

6.  The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings–I know, his stories were *all* based on the same storyline and characters, but out of all of them, Redemption is my favorite.  Maybe it’s because it’s distilled down into one book instead of 7, or maybe it’s because these characters were just…a lot more likeable than some of the ones from his other series.

7.  Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson–every time I hear “I Wonder as I Wander”, I think of this book.  Fantastic book..now I want to go reread it…

8.  The Pendergast series by Preston and Child–I just entered to win the latest installment!  From the moment I picked up The Cabinet of Curiosities at the local fleamarket, I’ve been hooked on Preston and Child.  I even read everything they’ve written solo (as long as it’s fiction…one of them writes archeology texts, I think).  If you’re looking for creepy horror that keeps you awake at night…Preston and Child are for you.

9.  The Bunnicula books–I enjoyed these growing up, and I think read them even into my late teens.  I love Chester, and the ever patient Harold.  Howie’s a bit annoying, but he is a puppy, and will grow out of it…eventually.  I think my favorite is when Chester runs around toothpicking all of the white vegetables in the neighborhood because he thinks Bunnicula has drained their juices and is making an army of vampire vegetables to take over the world.  I hope to be able to give this series to my future children.

10.  The Birth of the Firebringer trilogy by Meredith Ann Pierce–a great series for anyone who likes unicorns, especially the fighting kind.  I read the first book when it was published, but never managed to read the second two until they re-released (thank you!) the trilogy a while ago.  I managed to get my hands on the last two books, and I just…loved them all.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/top-ten-tuesday-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The Plains of Passage is when the Earth’s Children series tanked for me. I loved the first three, but just could not get into this one. Maybe you’ll like it, but I just could not continue!

    • I’m not sure why this book has been untouched for so long…maybe it’s because I know I won’t like it? It’s also…sooooo long….soooo heavy….maybe I should toss the hardback into a booksale box and pick up a paperback instead. 😀

      • Those are massive books as hardcovers! I understand what Ciuva is saying about skipping the boring parts with Plains of Passage, but I never felt like I wanted to skip anything before I got to this book, even though the earlier ones had tons of descriptive parts as well, I guess I was just disappointed 😦

  2. Holy smokes! Finally someone who loves The Thornbirds as much as me! I have two copies too. Meggie + Ralph forever. Haha. Definitely following you.

    • I’m feeling the itch to read it again…but I have so many books to read! Too many books, so little time right?

  3. I see several good ones that I forgot to mention! Thanks for sharing! Please check out my TTT at:
    http://joriesreads.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/top-ten-older-books-jorie-doesnt-want-people-to-forget/

    • I keep seeing ones on people’s lists that make me go “should have had that one, and that one, that one, and that one…” and then there are lists that i read that make me go “i haven’t heard of a single one of these books…”

  4. Most of these books are unfamiliar to me, but they seem really interesting. (Somehow my wishlist keeps growing every Tuesday…) Earth’s Children has been one of my favourite series for ages – I started reading it more than ten years ago, and have re-read it so many times it’s not even funny. I used to have several bookmarks in each book so I could start reading right at the best parts(in Plains of Passage I did it so I could skip the boring travel parts).

    • my wishlist does the same thing every tuesday. it’s why i can’t use the rest of my $50 amazon card i got for my birthday in APRIL. I just can’t choose any books because I’m afraid I’ll be missing out on a better book the next week!

  5. Ah! I am so happy to see Bunnicula on your list. That’s such a great book. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I am so happy you have Bunnicula on your list. Great books! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • The Bunnicula books were always some of my favorites, both growing up and now.

  7. Yes, I truly forgot about The Wayside Stories! And that is the point of this list! I LOVED those books when I was in school. They were so much fun. When I read them, they were way below my reading level, and I remembered devouring them in about an hour. So good!

    I ALSO agree about the Bunnicula books. Those were great as well.

    • I always read my books AND my brother’s books–my mom tended to buy me female authors and my brother male authors. So he got Wayside Stories and the stuff by James Howe…it’s all good, though, because I always used ot sneak into his room and “borrow” them…it’s not like he ever missed them!

  8. Yeah for Wayside School! I loved those books as a kid and recently re-read the first book for a school assignment…still funny!

    • I love in the one book where he actually puts in a story about Miss Zarves and the thirteenth story. Great stuff, love most of the stuff he’s written!

  9. I read the first couple of the Earth’s Children series but then just kind of quit. I love the Bunnicula books though and enjoyed re-reading them with my daughter.

    • The problem with series like Earth’s Children (and I have a few like it *coffwheeloftimecoff*) is the fact that the books are SO LONG that it takes the authors years to write each successive book that it’s easy to…forget entirely about them, or when the new one comes out, want to reread the entire series…but the books are sooo looooong that it just isn’t feasible to do so. I don’t think we’ve seen a book in that series since Plains, have we?

      • There were two more — The Shelters of Stones & The Land of Painted Caves…I didn’t read either though and I’ve heard a lot of long time fans were not happy with the conclusion to the series, but since I gave up at Plains, I can’t really offer an opinion.

      • Holy cow, am *I* behind on that series! I think I just got tired of waiting 5 or more years at a time for a sequel. You got further than me, though–I didn’t even start Plains of Passage!


Add to the flood

