Top Ten Tuesday!

It’s here again, guys, it’s Top Ten Tuesday!  As always, click on the above graphic to be magically transported to TTT sponsor, The Broke and the Bookish!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a “Top Ten Rewind” where we get to pick one topic from the past TTT subjects.  I chose Top Ten Tuesday #3.

Hilarious Book Titles

1.  The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove by Christopher Moore–I have not read this book, but it was recommended to me by someone in my book group.  It *sounds* hilarious (the local psychiatrist puts everyone on placebos instead of their usual anti-depressant and hijinks ensue), and it’s on my “GET THIS BOOK SOON” list.

2.  Trouble in Mudbug (Ghost-in-law #1) by Jana Deleon–I got this for free on my Kindle, and I have to admit, it was the title that made me laugh and download it.  Maryse’s mother-in-law kicks the bucket, and at her funeral, Maryse watches her crawl out of her coffin.  Unfortunately, Maryse is the only person who can see her, and her ghostly mother-in-law turns up all over the place.

3.  Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg–Great novel, funny title.

4.  The Celery Stalks at Midnight (or, really, any of the Bunnicula books) by James Howe–white vegetables start appearing everywhere, making Chester the Cat think that Bunnicula is building his own vampire army of vegetables.

5.  I was a Non-Blonde Cheerleader by Kieran Scott–Annissa’s new school is full of blondes…and she’s not.  She does, however, want to be a cheerleader on the school’s nationally ranked squad, which is full until two of the girls get kicked off for smoking…and they think Annissa ratted them out.

6.  The Reformed Vampire Support Group by Catharine Jinx–Nina’s a vampire…but vampires aren’t the mythical strong creatures you read about in books.  In reality, they’re weak and sickly…and they attend a support group run by a priest to help keep them from killing humans.

7.  Titanic with ZOMBIES by Richard Brown–another Kindle “freebie”, though this was through the Kindle Lending Library program.  Yes, the Titanic still sinks…but it takes with it to the  bottom of the ocean an infestation that had the potential to wipe out the entire human race…

8.  The One in the Middle is the Green Kangaroo by Judy Blume–Judy Blume has about 15 titles that could be considered in the running for a funny book title list, but this one…this one is my favorite one.  Any kid with older siblings can relate to Freddy!

9.  This Book is Full of Spiders.  Seriously, Dude, Don’t Touch it (John Dies at the End #2) by David Wong–I won this through a Goodreads Giveaway, and the title makes me giggle every time I see the book.  I can’t wait to read it…but first I have to get my paws on John Dies at the End…

10.  Why Did the Underwear Cross the Road? by Gordan Korman–another author with a penchant for funny book titles, it was hard to pick just one!  Gordan Korman was one of the authors my mom bought for my brother…but that I probably read more of.  The books themselves are even funnier than their titles.  Great reads!

Can’t wait to see what everyone else picked for their Top Ten Tuesday:  Rewind Edition!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/top-ten-tuesday-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is a great list only heard of two of them though! Definitely weird titles!
    Check out my list here

    • I like to browse books at the local fleamarket, so I get some unusual ones from there…and I also love the top 100 free on Kindle list, too. 😀

  2. Oh my gosh, I love Bunnicula! I haven’t read any others in the series, but Bunnicula is one of my favorites. Poor Chester.

    Here’s my TTT

    • If you get a chance, you should check out more of the series–they’re fast reads and HILARIOUS!

  3. These are all hilarious titles. I hadn’t heard of that Judy Blume book before, but she does have some great book titles.This Book Is Full of Spiders is a funny one too, and I’m so curious about Titanic with Zombies!

    • Titanic with ZOMBIES was okay–I think it’s fairly cheap on Kindle. It’s written in that dry historical fiction type way, so it can be hard to digest at times. 🙂

  4. Great list! I love all the Bunnicula cooks.

    • I think I had Bunnicula on my list last week, too. I LOVED those books growing up–well, anything James Howe wrote!

  5. I loved Gordon Korman books when I was younger. And the Bunnicula books. Excellent titles and hilarious writing!

    • My mom always bought those books for my brother, but I’m pretty sure I read them tons more than he did!

  6. Whaaaaat? Lust Lizard? My my.

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-rewind-top-ten-bookish.html


Add to the flood

