Top Ten Tuesday!

It’s Tuesday here in the land of a Random Flood of Words, so you know what that means!  Top Ten Tuesday!  As always, click on the picture to be taken to TTT’s lovely sponsors, The Broke and the Bookish!

Top Ten Favorite Authors In the Fantasy Genre

1.  Mercedes Lackey–she brought us the Heralds of Valdemar (I still want my very own companion!) along with the retelling of many beloved fairy tales.  She’s written fantasy, science fiction, collaborated with other authors, written short stories…a very prolific author!

2.  David Eddings–LOVE all of his books…well, except for maybe that last trilogy of his…I never finished it.  In fact, I think I only made it halfway through the second book.  I think it was the bugs that did it for me…I don’t have a bug phobia, I just…don’t like reading about them, I guess.

3.  James Clemens–writer of the Banned and the Banished series, about the journey of Elena to free her world from dark overlords.

4.  George R.R. Martin–author of the Song of Ice and Fire series (most people just call it the Game of Thrones series lol).  I’ve also read several of his anthologies, and a strange science fiction book he wrote with another author.

5.  Robert Jordan–author of the Wheel of Time series.  I’m sad that he died before the series was finished (he promised us only 12 books!  The new author is splitting that book into THREE!  THREE MORE!  Well, now I think we’re just waiting for the final one to be published), but he did at least write out the Last Battle scene before he died.

6.  Gayle Greeno–she created a world where humans crash landed and discovered large, telepathic cats called Ghatten.  Similar in tone to the Valdemar Heralds, Seekers go around dispensing justice where it is needed.  Unfortunately, her second trilogy, Ghatten’s Gambit, seems to be unfinished for whatever reason.

7.  Kim Harrison–okay, I’m lumping some paranormal into this…but, seriously, I’d consider it to be part of the fantasy genre.  I think a lot of bookstores will stock it under horror, though, if they do not have a paranormal section.  I love the Hallows series–Ivy, Jinx, and the rest of the crew are fantastically written, and the book where Jinx is turned into a human male…*fans self*  Yeah.  That’s definitely fantasy to me!

8.  Josepha Sherman–I don’t know that she’s written a whole lot on her own, but she’s collaborated with a lot of the great fantasy authors.  She also wrote a couple of the Secret of the Unicorn Queen books, which puts her on my favorites list for certain!

9.  LJ Smith–another paranormal author, but as she deals with witches, vampires, telekinetic powers, Arthurian legend, and more, I’m going to still lump her in here into fantasy.  One of my all-time favorite authors in middle/high school, I devoured just about everything she wrote, and was excited to read the “new” stuff being published in conjunction with the TV show…but learned that her older stuff (from the early to mid 90s) was much better.

10.  Meredith Ann Pierce–she wrote the Firebringer trilogy (about fierce warrior unicorns), the Darkangel trilogy (about a vampire who kidnapped beautiful girls), and several other young adult fantasy novels.  I read the first Firebringer (Birth of the Firebringer) novel in middle school, but somehow didn’t manage to finish the trilogy…when I went to find them, I discovered a lot of her books were out of print.  THEN!  Some genius decided to reprint them and I was able to secure copies of the books I’d missed, since copies on Ebay were going for $50 or more!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/top-ten-tuesday-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOVE George R.R. Martin!!

    Check out my Top 10

    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

  2. Great list. I adore Robert Jordan of course and I was practically raised on David Eddings – the local library had all his books.

    • I’ve even read his first two books (The Losers and High Hunt)….well, I haven’t made it all the way through High Hunt yet…maybe some day…
      They aren’t fantasy, though, they’re more literary fiction.


Add to the flood

