Writing Prompts #12, NaNoWriMo Style

Yesterday was terrible!  My next door neighbors moved out at the beginning of the month, and yesterday their phone/internet provider was over shutting off their stuff, and they SHUT MINE OFF, TOO!  *FLAIL*  I had a post to make!  And I couldn’t because my internets was OUT!  Then my dad stopped over and when he heard my husband was going to be working late decided he would take me out to dinner, so between calling and trying to get said internet provider to reconnect my service and him coming over, I didn’t get a chance to go to a wireless friendly place and post.  Oh, and my other neighbors, usually so very cooperative with their unlocked middling strength signal wireless…didn’t have their wireless ON.  Double Ewe Tee Eff!

Wednesday, we had our NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month to those of you not in the know) ’12 Kickoff party at Eat N Park.  The turnout was HUGE!  There had to have been close to 30 people there–it was fantastic!  What I really enjoy about the kickoff for our area is the ML usually has a bunch of prompts with her and makes us write.    

Prompt #1  Afterwards, I thought about…
…revising my plant to take over the world.  Of course, it would have made more sense to revise the plan before setting it into motion, but I’ve never been that kind of person—you can ask my mom, she’ll tell you.  There was 2nd grade me’s plan to raise two kittens in our backyard without my parents finding out…It took them 10 minutes to find Ozzy and Harriet in all their grey tiger-striped glory.  And then she’ll tell you about 8th grade’s plan to skip a year’s worth of gym.

Prompt #2 Secretly I know my name is…
…Penelope.  It’s a strange name for a guy, but when your parents are told they’re having a girl for 9 months (I’m really good at hiding things) and then out comes a baby with outdoor plumbing…sometimes you end up with a name they’d planned on, regardless of appropriateness.  Now you know why I tell everyone my name is Bob.

Prompt #3 If it appears as if I’m thinking with a fraction of my brain…
…then I’ve been successful.  I’ve been hiding here in Akron for 10 years, trying to avoid the people who want to capture me.  See, the thing is, I’m the smartest person in the world, and they want to use me for evil, to take over the world and use it for their nefarious purposes.

Prompt #4 It’s what I do at 2:30 in the morning when I can’t sleep…
…I read…a lot.  It’s a good thing I have an eReader with a backlight so I can still stay in bed and not disturb the great snoring beast I share my bed with most nights.  If that doesn’t work, I’ll get up and put on something like Mad Men or Apollo 13, things that are guaranteed to put me to sleep.
And if those things fail me, as well, then the world’s in trouble, because that’s when I think up my best plots to take over the planet.

Countdown to NaNo:  6 days!  Are you participating this year?  If you are participating and want to be writing buddies, I’m under marzipan9!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/writing-prompts-12-nanowrimo-style/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good luck with Nanowrimo! And I really liked your writing prompts.

    • Thanks! I feel so less prepared going in this year than I did last year, but I have plans on setting aside all day tomorrow to just plot and plan, so we’ll see how I feel come midnight on Halloween!


Add to the flood

