Top Ten Tuesday

Holy crap, I almost forgot it was Tuesday!  I blame NaNoWriMo, honestly.  Heck, I didn’t even *do* last week’s list–I just didn’t have the brainpower to come up with my own topic.

This week we get to tell you what books we’d take on a desert island-this should be AWESOME!  When I was little, sometimes I’d gather up a bunch of stuffed animals and an assortment of books and move a footstool into the spare bedroom and set up the bed like it was a raft lost on the ocean.  I’d only have with me the things I could fit on my “raft”.  I didn’t use my bed because I had a double bed growing up (getting used to a single bed in college was rough, let me tell you) because it was too big, and the spare room had a single bed in it–perfect!  I’m sure I brought more than 10 books with me, but I have practice sorting and picking!

Top Ten Books I’d want on a Desert Island

1.  The First Man in Rome by Colleen McCullough–no joke, I’ve been “reading” this book since high school, and having it on a desert island would get me to actually finish it.  Though, at this time, I’m sure I’d have to start over, but it’s okay, I have a lot of time on my hands being stranded on a desert island and all.

2.  Little Women by Louisa May Alcott–love this story, and if I didn’t have a TBR pile longer than I am tall, I’d reread this a lot.

3.  Beauty Queens by Libba Bray–while I have not read this book yet, it’s about girls stranded on a desert island after a plane crash, so maybe I’d learn a few things to help me get by.

4.  Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell–another one of my favorites, and it’s over 1000 pages long, so it’d be a great desert island read!

5.  The Last Herald Mage trilogy by Mercedes Lackey–I’m assuming there is an omnibus of this *somewhere*, so I’m taking all three.  Honestly, it could be any of Lackey’s Heralds of Valdemar trilogies and I’d be happy.

6.  Birth of the Firebringer trilogy by Meredith Ann Pierce (ha, see a pattern here?  I love that publishers have a tendency to make omnibuses of trilogies)–I loved Birth of the Firebringer growing up, and was ecstatic when they released the original trilogy again, as trying to get one off Ebay for cheaper than $25 was just not happening.

7.  The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings–Althalus is pretty much all of Eddings’ other books compacted and boiled down into one book, and it’s one of my favorites.

8.  Killing Floor by Lee Child–Love Jack Reacher, and this is the first book in the series.  And perhaps, if I run into some native wildlife, reading about Reacher’s badassery will inspire me to…be a badass myself.

9.  The Cabinet of Curiosities by Preston and Child–this is the first Aloysius Pendergast book that I read, and it was twisted and fascinating and just *so darn good*.  I read everything by these authors that I can get my hands on.

10.  The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern–the fact that I want to read and review things that I’ve been given for free, I’m having a really hard time getting around to reading this book–I’ve picked it up several times, but then put it back because I still have 3 books left on my goodreads winner list to read and review, as well as 4 or 5 things on my Kindle.  Having this on a desert island without any of those books removes that pressure!

And there’s 600 words I could have put in my novel…heh!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/top-ten-tuesday-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I picked only books from my TBR list. I think Beauty Queens is an excellent deserted island pick and it is hilarious. Little Women is on my list too…because I have never read it. I am pretty ashamed!

    • I think I only ended up with 3 books from my TBR pile…I thought about picking only books from that pile, but then I worried I wouldn’t actually *like* the book, and then I’d be stuck with it on a desert isle for who knows how long, so I had to stick a few of the old favorites in there, as well.

  2. Hearing all about Libba Bray at the moment, so that might be good! As for Gone with the Wind, wow that’s a long book. I was just thinking about picking it up because somebody said it’s really good, but I think I’ll hold off. I have this thing about long books and 700 pages daunts me at the moment so I have yet to get to a 1000 page book I need to build my way up when 500 page books are still “big” books inmy world.

    Well, this list looks pretty brilliant. Ooooh, The Night Circus I have too and I’ve heard lots about it.

    Great list! 🙂

    • I used to go to the library when I was around…10-14 and sometimes I would just want a big thick book to curl up with…and that was my criteria. As long as it was a long book, I’d check it out. I dont think I actually read any of them, though…:D
      Currently I’m reading Pillars of the Earth on my Kindle. I guess it’s a 1,000 page book, but Kindle doesn’t do pages, it does positions, so it makes it a bit…easier to deal with? 😀

      • Oh dear… Well did you read some of them? haha.

        No, kindle doesn’t do pages. So it makes it easier I guess although the little percentage thing is still there and that is equally depressing! 🙂


Add to the flood

