NaNoWriMo is…it’s almost over…

I’d planned on writing more about NaNo this month…oops!

I’d like to say that this month went fantastically, that the story flowed fluidly from my brain to the ends of my fingers, that I finished a week ago with the 50,000 words and currently I’m just finishing up the story itself.

Instead, there are three (yes, THREE!) days left and I’ve yet to hit 50k.  My big confrontation is still looming over the horizon, though Ansley is *finally* slipping into that leadership role right on schedule.  Currently, she is bossing around 3 other people while watching over The Big Bad, seeing what they’re up to.  The full moon is coming, and I am less than 1000 words from that 50,000 word deadline.

And I just…can’t think of how to get from where I am to where I need to be.  And I need to figure out if I’m going to kill of a character or two–I probably should, and I know who one of them should be.  And maybe who another should be.  I don’t want to kill off that second character–he’s a goofy, fun guy to write, and he wears the best t-shirts.

I know what I’d like to do, but I don’t think I have time to do it and complete the novel in November (I don’t have a great track record of actually finishing novels that cross 50k but still have story left).  Plus, what I want to do…will probably just drag it out too long, anyway, as I like my confrontations to take place under the full moon.  I have no idea what I’d do to fill up the space between the two full moons, honestly.  I may have started out too far away from the moon in the first place…But hey, extra words, right?

I should be crossing the finish line today, though, and hopefully soon!  I have one last write in to go to tonight, where I can hopefully put the finishing touches on the end of the novel.  Last year’s novel ended up being just under 58,0000 words, and edits dropped it down to just over 57,000.  See, there was this horse trailer scene, and it was really bad and had nothing to do with the story at all, but I needed words at the time and I really couldn’t think of anything else to do, and it was very very very mean to a character that ended up having other very very very bad things happen to him, so I cut the scene.

To those of you participating in NaNoWriMo with me–good luck and I hope you cross the finish line!  To those of you who want to write a novel “some day”, your next chance is in June with Camp NaNoWriMo.  Get out there and WRITE!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/nanowrimo-is-its-almost-over/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Add to the flood

