Wolf Girl Wednesday and ABNA

NaNo is over, and that makes me sad.  I love the frenetic writing pace that happens in November, as well as the camaraderie of the people in my region on the NaNo forums, Facebook page, and at write-ins.

Wolf Girl 2 is about 3,000 words from being finished, as well, putting it at a solid 60,000 words.  I’m going to let it settle for a few more days, then hop back in, put on the ending, and then go back through and start doing some heavy-duty editing.  I’m not really all that happy with some of the pacing, as well as I think I left out some stuff that needs to be added in.  I may sit down and outline what I have (I used to do that in high school when we had to turn in our outline with a research paper–I’d write the paper then do the outline), which will give me an easy way to see where I need to put stuff in, or cut stuff out.

I’m also not sure if I like the form I’ve got going–for a good 2/3 of the book, I switch back and forth between Ash and Ansley’s POV, and while I think it could work, I need to fix quite a bit about the way I executed it.

I also managed to flesh out more of my characters’ world.  I added quite a bit of detail about what I call my “werewolf mythology”, which was missing from Book 1.  Ansley is also starting to come into her own and gradually becoming the leader I need her to be for the final book in the trilogy.

CreateSpace is again offering 5 free copies of their novel to NaNo winners, which I will definitely be taking advantage of again.  I have until June 30th, 2013 to get everything fixed up and formatted.  Plenty of time!

Also, the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award is coming up.  They’ve completely revamped the contest, too!  Instead of two categories (Fiction and Young Adult), they’ve split it into FIVE!  General Fiction, Romance, YA, Mystery/Thriller, and Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror.  The winner from each category gets a publishing contract and a 50,000 advance.  FIFTY THOUSAND DOLLARS.  Each finalist will also get a publishing contract and a $15,000 advance.  However, Random House/Penguin will no longer be the publisher, it’ll be Amazon Publishing, instead.
(and now I imagine a world where Amazon is the only place for anything related to books–buying, selling, publishing.  That’s kind of…scary)

For ABNA, I thought briefly about entering Wolf Girl (published novels are a no, but self-published novels are OK), but I wouldn’t really know *what* to enter it as–honestly, I feel it reads a lot like a YA novel, but Ansley is that weird age that is too old, honestly, for a YA book, but a bit too young for adult fiction.  I’m thinking, instead, of digging out my NaNo project from 2 years ago, a ghost story about a girl who died at 15 on Halloween and became a ghost.  That book has an ending, but it’s missing a big chunk towards the end.  I was floundering, going nowhere plotwise, so I decided to skip ahead to the end and fill in the rest later.  I managed to hit 50,000 words by doing that, but at the same time…well, I’m missing about 4,000 words to connect part A to part B.  Oops.

ABNA submissions start January 14th, and close approximately 2 weeks later, or when they hit 10,000 submissions.  I need to figure out how to do a pitch, as well…I’ve entered before but never made it past round 1, and I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that I have no clue on how to write a pitch.  Luckily for me, though, I have a couple of friends who have made it past round 1, so I can always pick their brains for ideas and to critique what I come up with.

I had some electrical issues in the kitchen this week, which led me to think of the premise for a series of middle grade books about a guy I’ve tentatively named Eric the Electrician.  Without going into too much detail, Eric gains some superpowers and goes around solving problems for kids, perhaps starting out by finding his own children’s lost dog.  We’ll see how that goes, but that idea will have to go on the shelf until I finish/edit Wolf Girl and fix up the ghost story for ABNA, so that’s at least February.

So many ideas, so little time!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/wolf-girl-wednesday-and-abna/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Add to the flood

