Top Ten Tuesday!

Top Ten TuesdayTuesday, Tuesday, it’s Tuesday!  The year is winding down, there aren’t many Tuesdays left in 2012.  We’ve yet to get any substantial snow here, but it’s coming…it was in Chicago last night, so I expect it sometime tonight or tomorrow morning.

This week’s subject for Top Ten Tuesday is an interesting one–generally, I tend to stick to authors I already know, but with getting my Kindle in May as well as picking up random books at a couple of Friends of the Library book sales…I’ve found quite a few authors this year to add to my collection!

Top Ten Favorite “New to Me” authors in 2012

1.  Libba Bray–I just started the Gemma Doyle trilogy this month, and I’m already on book 3.  She writes about the Victorian Era in this trilogy, which is generally not my favorite era (seriously, I don’t get the fascination with Pride and Prejudice and Mr. Darcy), but she writes the books ABOUT the era, not in the STYLE of the era, which helps immensely.

2.  Anna Godberson–I finished up book 2 of the Luxe books last week, and I’m a little ashamed to say that I read it all in ONE sitting.  Eep!  Great escape/guilty pleasure reading for the YA set, especially if you like ball gowns and forbidden love.

3.  Gemma Halliday–I picked up Spying in High Heels for free on my Kindle about the same time as I was given Deadly Cool (her YA novel), and I loved them both.  Her writing is quirky and funny, and I love her characters!

4.  Elle Strauss–another Kindle freebie, Clockwise, caught my eye.  It started out really slow (I admit, I did consider DNFing it), but about 1/2 way through the book really picked up and I *loved* it!  I look forward to reading more in the Clockwise series, and I have Seaweed on my Kindle, as well.

5.  Chanda Hahn–her series of books about a girl living the Grimm Fairy tails is wonderful.  Can’t wait to read more!

6.  Sue Monk Kidd–I picked up two of her books, The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair, at Library sales.  I haven’t read Bees yet, but Mermaid Chair was so beautiful, like every sentence was crafted over and over until each word was perfect, made me despair as a writer–I will never write that well!

7.  Fannie Flagg (new to me, remember!)–I finally got around to reading Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe, and wow was it excellent!  I also have a few other of her books to read, as well.

8.  H.P. Mallory–author of the Dulcie O’neil books, and another Kindle freebie.  I actually think I have three books on my Kindle by her (one a crossover written with Barbara Annino), and I’ve enjoyed the two I’ve read so far.  She has a way of superimposing her fairy world right on top of the real world that makes you wonder if maybe…maybe there really *are* fairies and other greeblies out there.

9.  EV Anderson–author of The Many Lives of Lilith Lane.  I don’t think I can say how much I enjoyed this Kindle Serial!  I’ve also been chatting back and forth with EV on Goodreads, as well.  Great book, great guy.  Highly recommended!

10.  My friends!  Many of them released books this year–Spookygirl:  Paranormal Investigator by Jill Baguchinsky, Awakenings by D.S. Toles, On the Downbeat by Kylan Toles, Zion’s Crossing by HT Barkman, and the re-release of Gift of the Dreamtime (and its Reader’s Companion) by S. Kelley Harrell.  All are wonderful books, and available for both print AND ebook at Amazon.com, Createspace.com, and Smashwords.com.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/top-ten-tuesday-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I still have to start many of these books and I hope I get them soon. Nice list 😉

    My TTT

    • Since getting my Kindle, I’ve abused the top 100 free, and while a lot of the stuff is bad (oh so bad that I love it), some of it is really good and I’ve definitely found some new favorite authors!

      • I just got Kindle myself and I just went nuts with the books. I exchanged some with my friends and I can barely list a regular book anymore 😀

      • I have to keep myself off the list right now–I have so many books to read already! I also picked up the last ebook Humble Bundle, which ended up being like…15 books and graphic novels, and I’ve only read the graphic novels so far.

  2. Libba Bray is one of my favorite authors too. She’s absolutely amazing and her books are so great!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    • I’m about 10 chapters into the 3rd book, and I’m hoping to get Beauty Queens for Christmas. I generally read my kindle at night (my husband goes to sleep earlier than I do) and print books during the day, but I’ve been “cheating” the whole time I’ve been reading her books because they’re sooo darn good!

  3. that’s so cool that your friends are authors!

    • I have a group of friends that do NaNoWriMo, both IRL that I met through a local group and online, though my online friends were all from other things and just happened to do NaNo as well–they’re where I learned about it from. 🙂

  4. Awesome list. It looks like I will have a ton of new authors and books to check out. Thanks for sharing and visiting my TTT. =]

    • I really liked seeing everyone’s answers for this one–some TTT it seems like the same 5-6 answers are on *every* list, but this one had a LOT of different authors mentioned!

  5. Great list! I really need to read more Libba Bray as soon as possible. I’ve heard great things about the rest of her books, and The Diviners was great!

    • I need to read everything she’s written…NOW. 😀 Loved the Gemma Doyle books so much, which is a surprise considering how much I don’t like Victorian era literature…the fact that it’s written with more of a modern day tone is probably why I liked it so much.

  6. Anna Godbersen and Libba Bray are two authors I still need to read. I’ve heard tonnes about Libba Bray and yet I haven’t picked up a book. I only recently got one of her books, so now I have NO excuse. haha.

    Great list and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Beauty Queens has been at the top of my “have to get NOW list for a while, but I’m holding off til after Christmas to see what kind of gift cards I get/if my husband gets it for me.

      • Sounds like a plan otherwise then you might have more than one or you might waste money unnecessarily!

  7. Libba Bray is definitely on the reading list! Hoping I can get to The Diviners early in 2013! Great list all around, thanks for sharing & for stopping by my blog earlier. Sorry it took me a bit to get back 🙂

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

    • better late than never! 🙂 I finished the 3rd Gemma Doyle last night and I’m already going through Libba Bray withdrawl…hopefully I get something for Christmas!


Add to the flood

