Top Ten Tuesday!

Top Ten TuesdayIt’s Tuesday!  Yay!  As always, click on the image above to find Top Ten Tuesday’s sponsor, the Broke and the Bookish.

This week we’re talking about the top ten books we read in 2012.  I read…a lot of books.  I didn’t start really keeping track of my books until early March on Goodreads, and my total count from then is at 110.  It’s probably closer to 125, though.  I read a *lot*.

Top Ten Books I read in 2012
(in no particular order)

1.  A Long Fatal Love Chase by Louisa May Alcott–I picked this up on a whim at a stuff a sack library sale.  I’m really glad I did–it was fantastic.  I love Louisa May in general, and this book was a deviation from her normal, upbeat works.  It was considered too scandalous to be published in her lifetime (it deals with divorce and a man who dupes a young girl [spoiler removed]), and was only recently published.

2.  Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg–I picked this up in February from my brother- and sister-in-law.  I’ve seen the movie about a hundred times, and I was pleased at how closely the movie actually followed the book.  Fantastic read!

3.  Spookygirl:  Paranormal Investigator by Jill Baguchinsky–I can’t say enough good things about this book.  Violet can see ghosts, but not the only one she’d really love to see–her mother.  Fun characters, engaging storylines, and a fantastic author.  Also, this book won the 2011 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. Looking forward to seeing more things from this spectacular novelist!

4.  The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald–I know, I’m a bit behind (judging from my choices thus far) on my classic/required high school reading.  I picked this up at an estate sale in August, as I wanted to read it before the movie came out (and boo, they moved the movie back to MAY!).  I did have to read the scene by the pool several times before I actually understood what was going on.

5.  The Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray–I devoured all three books in about a week, I loved them so much.  I’m even more looking forward to reading more of Bray’s books in 2013!

6.  In Cold Blood by Truman Capote–I’m not a big non-fiction reader, so the fact that Capote took the time and made the effort to make this book read more like a novel than a nonfiction book intrigued me.  It took me a bit to get into it (Capote definitely loved his flowery descriptions), but it was an excellent read.

7.  The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd–this, surprisingly, had a lot of bad reviews on Goodreads, though I think it was more for the content than for the actual writing (apparently people don’t like to read books about married women having affairs with island monks).  I, however, fell in absolute love with this book.  Each word is almost perfectly crafted from the first word to the last.  Secret Life of Bees will be on my 2013 reading list.

8.  Gift of the Dreamtime by S. Kelley Harrell–the nonfiction account of surviving childhood abuse at the hands of her grandfather, Harrell tells about how she dealt with and grew from the experience.  She is also a shaman and an all around wonderful person.

9.  Grave’s End:  A Magical Thriller by Sean Patrick Travers–a noir novel set in modern times about a mostly dead private dick from the 40s.  There’s really not much about this book that I didn’t like.  It was a fun romp!

10.  Rumors (The Luxe #2) by Anna Godberson–I read this in one sitting.  LOVE this series, and I’ll be getting to Envy (#3) soon, I hope.  TOO MANY BOOKS IN MY TOO READ PILE!

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2012/12/18/top-ten-tuesday-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You really do want more Libba Bray! I read the first book in 2008 and wasn’t very impressed, but after I enjoyed Beauty Queens and The Diviners so much, I want to give that series another try, since I know how brilliant Bray is.

    The only other one on your list I’ve read and that was back in high school, so I need to reread that one too!

    • I have so many books I want to reread, but I actually feel guilty if I do (I recently got my box set of Pretty Little Liars books back, and what did I do? Reread them all..) because I just have sooo many books I haven’t read yet!

      I asked for Beauty Queens for christmas, and I generally get book store gift cards from my aunt and her family, so Libba Bray is DEF on that list–along with Cinder. 😀

  2. I never did finish reading the Gemma Doyle series, I read the 1st one and enjoyed it completely, but I never got around to finishing the series

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/12/top-10-tuesday-23.html

    • The entire series is excellent, though Rebel Angels does have a few “meh” moments–but I think a lot of middle trilogy books have that…gotta have it to advance the plot, but not really all that exciting.

  3. Quite a list! I’m adding the Louise May Alcott to my check-out list, sounds interesting.

    Happy reading!

    • It’s *really* good! I had to, though, keep reminding myself that yes, this would have been terribly scandalous in LMA’s time, because now…well, it’s just another plot on a soap opera. 😀

  4. Oh a great list! There’s so many books on here that I haven’t heard of but I think I will definitely have to check out! 🙂

    • I read a lot of “obscure” stuff (ie Kindle top 100 free), so I have some different choices. 😀

  5. What a great, varied list. I’ve read In Cold Blood and The Great Gatsby, neither of them grabbed me, though of the two I enjoyed ICB much more. Libba Bray is on my radar, but I haven’t got to reading anything by her just yet. The Louisa May Alcott sounds intriguing.

    • Libba Bray is very good–I’m kind of upset with myself that I didn’t read something of hers earlier. LMA’s book is *fantastic*, and it was, I believe, written as a serial, so it tends to have the dramatic cliffhanger endings to some of the chapters.

  6. The Luxe series was so amazing. I love those books, I’m going to start reading her next series about 1920’s flappers. A lot of the books on your list I don’t think I’ve ever heard of (Except Fried Green Tomatoes and The Great Gatsby).
    I’ll have to look into some of these books to add them to my TBR list.

    You can see my TTT list at http://www.napsandnovels.com

    • I’ve been reading a lot of off the beaten path stuff, due to picking up random things at library sales and practically living on the kindle to 100 free list. 🙂 I do end up with a bunch of crap (I’m thinking about doing top 10 horrible books i read this year for next week’s freebie), but i have gotten quite a few good reads, as well.


Add to the flood

