Top Ten Tuesday!

Top Ten TuesdayIt’s the best day of the week already, and time for Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish (click on the banner to be whisked away to their website).  This week we get to explore frustrating characters–which is great, because I know we’ve all read books where we’ve shouted out loud at something stupid the main character has done, and maybe even thrown a book or two at a wall in frustration.  Of course I would never abuse a book that way, no way.  *coff*

Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

1.  Princess Mia from The Princess Diaries–I came close to DNF several of the books AND the series because there is only so much paranoid rambling I can take–it’s obvious to everyone BUT Princess Mia that Michael is head over heels for her for the entire series, but she second guesses everything he does and says, and manages to push him away to a different COUNTRY with her neurotic behavior.  I almost wanted him to find someone else to be with, because Mia was too much to handle.

2.  David Wong from John Dies at the End and This Book is Full of Spiders–with the conspiracy theories about the government and other oddball things going on these books, it’s almost easy to overlook David’s annoyingness and inability to actually react to a damn thing that’s happening to him.  I almost wish the books were told from John’s point of view, because in spite of the fact that he’s certifiable, he at least knows what he’s doing and how to do it.

3.  Aine from The Toadhouse Trilogy–she’s convinced she can’t do anything at all, and the lack of confidence in herself and her lack of trust to the people who are trying to keep her alive is just…frustrating.  Sigh.

4.  Bella Swan from Twilight–’nuff said.

5.  Every Character from the House of Night series–I’ve read them all, and I’ve enjoyed them all, but damn, you could not FIND a more annoying and frustrating cast of characters in ANY books, even the Twilight books!  Stevie’s too upbeat all the time, the evil guys are way too evil, Zoey’s inadequacies yet saves the worldness…I could go on, but I think you get the point.

6.  Stephanie Plum from the By the Numbers series–JUST PICK ONE ALREADY (and make it Ranger).

7.  “A” from Pretty Little Liars–let Ali die already and get your own persona.  The whole “A” thing got old about 1/2 way through the second set of books, mmmkay?

8.  Anita Blake/Richard starting around Micah–you used to have morals, Anita, what happened?  You also used to kick ass and I miss that part of the books.  And Richard, get the hell over yourself already.  You were a good guy, when did you turn into a judgemental hypocritical piece of crap?

9.  Ralph de Briccasart from The Thorn Birds–choose, buddy, choose.   The Church or Meggie, you can’t have both.  You should have been a better priest and cut yourself off when Meggie was little-it would have saved everyone in your lives a whole lot of heartache (though that wouldn’t have made for as interesting of a book, I guess)

10.  Stephan Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries (the books, not the show)–tortured Italian vampire who won’t give into his urges and drink human blood or admit how much he loves Elena.  Sigh.  There are times you almost hope Elena picks the much less complicated Damon–what you see with him is what you get, there’s not much under his surface.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/top-ten-tuesday-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on marijhonna's Blog and commented:
    Try it out

  2. I forgot all about Stephanie Plum when doing my list but you’re right. Pick one and stick with him already! I haven’t read The Vampire Diaries books but Stefan on the show drives me up a wall for some reason..

    • He’s wishy washy and is just being passive when it comes to Elena, and he’s the same way in the books, too. MAN UP, DUDE!

  3. Stephanie Plum definitely needs to pick one! No girl should be allowed to tie up two guys like that!

    • Logically, she should pick Morelli–he’s the one who’s more in line with her life goals, honestly. But Ranger. RANGER. Cuban Batman who supplies her with cars and only laughs when she decimates them. HELLO.

  4. “There are times you almost hope Elena picks the much less complicated Damon” Definitely. Stefan annoys me to no end. I root for Damon in both the show and the books 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • There’s just something about dark and brooding, and Damon most certainly fills those categories!

  5. Ha! I was thinking about Father Ralph also! I find Elena in the books really irritating, but Stefan is pretty annoying as well. Who am I kidding? I don’t like the Vampire Diaries books at all (but loooove the TV show).

    Lisa

    • A friend and I talk about it–honeslty if you didn’t read TVD at the right time (they came out when I was a freshman in high school and I read them pretty much when they were released), and you’ve seen the TV show first, you like the show better than the books. Personally, for me, the books>the show, but as I said, I loved them when I was a teenager. 🙂

  6. I forgot about Mia! I liked her for the most part, but the obliviousness got really old really fast. I still haven’t finished the series because the whole thing annoyed me. Someday I’ll get back to it…

    • honestly, i recommend just skipping what you haven’t read and going straight for Forever Princess. There’s a lot of meandering and insecurity and obnoxiousness, but Forever Princess does a *really* good job of wrapping up the series and Mia has grown up quite a lot in it.

  7. Haha totally agree about Mia. I didn’t even think to add her though. 🙂 Agree with you on Plum. And Bella made my list as well. I’ve only seen Vampire Diaries on tv, but I agree Stefan is so frustrating. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s mine

    ~Danica Page@Taking it One Page at a Time


Add to the flood

