Top Ten Tuesday!!

Top Ten TuesdayHey, it’s Tuesday!  Kind of snuck up on me, had a long weekend.  Sunday was spent on the road going to a birthday party, a writing meeting, and a Super Bowl party…exhausting!  This week my uncle is in town from Hawaii (it doesn’t happen very often!), so I’m sure it’ll be just as busy–already he and my dad have been over to my house and we went out to dinner, tomorrow they’ll be invading my house again to watch the Ohio State/Michigan basketball game, and then we’re scheduled to have dessert over at my aunt’s house with the entire family.  Whew!  I kind of can’t wait til Thursday!

This week’s topic is favorite bookish moments.  This should be fun!  While I’ve never done anything like going to a book signing or a midnight release (though I considered it for the final Harry Potter novel), I do have a lot of fun memories involving books.

Top Ten Best Bookish Memories

1.  Reading under the covers with a flashlight/reading covertly at night–Yup, I was that kind of kid–I waited until I heard my parents coming to bed before I turned out the light, or I tried to hide the fact I was still up reading by stuffing a towel against the gap at the bottom of my door (yeah, that never worked…), or I hid a flashlight under my bed so I could read longer than I was allowed at bedtime.  I still love to read before I go to sleep every night, and the fact I have a Kindle Fire now means that I can still read without keeping my husband up.

2.  Getting a new book for my birthday/Christmas–my mom was *excellent* at picking out books she knew I would love–she picked me up the Drina books (ballet), Bad News Ballet (more ballet), The Vampire Diaries, BSC books, horse books, and I don’t think there was a single book she’d get for me that I didn’t end up loving and rereading a million times.  I have a hard time parting with any of my childhood books (even to lend them to family members) because of where they came from.

3.  Fleamarket finds–Mom and I used to go to the fleamarket near us a couple of times a month.  I had Mondays off from work, and luckily the flea market was on that day–she’d pick me up early and we’d make a day of it, finishing off with lunch at the Heartville Kitchen (YUM).  The main reason we went was to find cheap books to read–we’d come home with anywhere from 10-25 books between the two of us.  Honestly, I couldn’t go to the fleamarket for a couple of years after she passed away, because that was *our* thing, and it was hard to go without her.

4.  That feeling when a movie matches the book almost exactly–it makes my scalp tingle and I feel all warm and fuzzy inside when I recognise something from the book.  Bonus points if its one of my favorite scenes.

5.  Opening a box of my very own book–it was self-published and the box was from Create Space, but I took about a million pictures and posted them to Facebook, and sometimes I can’t help but grab one of my copies and flip through it.  MY BOOK, it’s MY BOOK and I can hold it and people can buy it (and while people have, I think I personally know every person who bought it :D).

bookcovers

6.  Buying a friend’s book in Books A Million (and looking for it in every bookstore I go to)–Again, I took pictures of that, as well, when I went to buy my friend Jill’s book Spookygirl:  Paranormal Investigator.  I also picked up a copy for my cousin’s daughter for Christmas this year, as well.  She’s at the perfect age for the books I used to love to read, and Spookygirl was perfect for her.

7.  Book Club meetings–while we don’t read a book for the meetings, we have been known to actually talk about books at the meetings.  Technically, we’re a branch of Bookcrossings.com, and every year we go to a local reading festival and give out loads of free books to anyone who wants them.  We cover everything from books to dogs to sex to everything in between.  We even came up with an idea for the next big thing in middle grade fiction–Black Lightning and the Fluffy Dog of Doom.  While we haven’t written it, we still talk about how awesome it’s going to be.

8.  National Novel Writing Month–okay, this is more of a writing memory, but as the end product *is* books, I’m going to let it count.  😀  Some meetings more talking than writing would get done, but we still had a blast.  I have an enormous book called CantoAkroNaNoWriMoBeTa that contains 7 or 8 of the novels written that year during NaNoWriMo.  I didn’t read all of them, but I did make it through a few of them.

9.  Cold days when snuggling up with a book is the best thing ever–days like that make me wish I had a fireplace and a bearskin rug to lay on.  Unfortunately I have neither of those, so I have to make do with a blanket and the couch, but it works.  There’s nothing better than laying on the couch and finishing up a book while it snows outside and you’re nice and toasty indoors with hot chocolate.

10.  That moment when you realize that someone likes the same books you do–and how you can sit and talk about them for ages, and how great it feels to know that someone else out there loves the books you do.  In high school, my friend Julie and I devoured everything that LJ Smith wrote (The Vampire Diaries, The Secret Circle, etc) and reveled in our shared love of the books.  My husband and I only have 2 series of books that we both read–Dexter and the Jack Reacher series, so we wait anxiously for the next installment of those two series to come out so we can read them.

Published in: on February 5, 2013 at 2:01 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/top-ten-tuesday-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heck! I still read in bed with a flashlight! Well, I have a book light now but I love reading in bed the most.

    • I go to bed later than my husband, and he used to have to leave the bedlamp on for me so that I wouldn’t wake him up turning it back on, but with the Kindle Fire, I don’t have to do that at all.
      I’ve read in bed with the “modern” flashlight, too–I have a flashlight app on my phone, so I’d use *that* to read in bed so I didn’t have to turn on the bedside lamp. 😀

  2. Mmmm I love snuggling up with a good book! And finding people who have read and loved the same books as you is so exciting! Great list 🙂

    Here’s my Top Ten!

    • Today is the perfect day, too, but I have errands to run and a car to clean off….sigh!

  3. Loving #7… and we *will* write the Black Lightning series one day!

    • It really sounds like it might actually write itself once we get going! 😀

  4. 🙂 i love it too when i find someone has read the books i have and enjoyed it as much..
    do check out my list and a giveaway on my blog..
    myrandrspace.blogspot.com

    • and then you have someone to swap books with, too!

  5. I so rarely find movie adaptations “good enough” but when it does happen it’s pretty special. So many people hate the winter, but I don’t mind it one bit due to #9. And I’m totally with you on #10!

    • sad, isn’t it? there is so much potential in books, and then some of the adaptations are just…ugh. 😦

      I read such an eclectic bunch of books that sometimes it’s hard to find people who like the same books I do–a lot of the time when i say i like i like vampire fiction, i get “I LOVED Twilight!” Ugh! 😀


Add to the flood

