From my Kindle #5

1.  James Potter and the Curse of the Gatekeeper by G. Norman Lippert finished 1/1–Lippert seems to have grown a bit as a writer and corrected a lot of the cannon mistakes he’d written into the first book (the years no longer mix in classes or in the dorms with one exception), though there is a bit of common room hopping that still doesn’t ring true–in the original books, I don’t think the other houses even *knew* where the entrances of the other houses were.  There are a lot of similarities between this and the second Harry Potter (so much that you could almost use the same general outline for both), but this only serves to strengthen James’s Hogwards.  I enjoyed this more than I did the first, but still gave it the same rating as the first, 3/5 stars.

2.  Cinder by Marissa Myers finished 1/2–I’ve been dying to read this book since  a friend pointed it out to me in BAM.  Fairytale retelling with CYBORGS?  Count me in!  It was really good, and now I’m kind of wishing that I’d waited until Scarlet was released to read it, because now I have to waaaaaaaaaaaaait for the next book.  I think that one might be…Little Red Riding Hood somehow?  It’ll be interesting to see!  5/5 stars

3.  The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater finished 1/8–I love just about anything that has to do with horses, and this has both normal horses and bloodthirsty killer horses that come out of the sea.  Loved it.  4/5 stars, can’t wait to read more books by Ms Stiefvater!

4.  Vet Tech Tales The Early Years Confessions of an Animal Junkie by Phoenix Sullivan finished 1/8–this was a short (very short!) compilation of blog posts by a Vet Tech blogger, though I don’t think she’s a vet tech anymore. The stories were cute and short, and the writing style engaging, but I have to say overall I wasn’t really impressed.  You can’t just take a series of blog posts and lump them together and call them a cohesive book.  3/5 stars.

5.  Beauty Queens by Libba Bray finished 1/10–Oh I was so disappointed with this book.  I was so excited to read it (beauty queens stranded on an island?  YES!), but…it just didn’t live up to my own personal hype, I guess.  I enjoyed the book, but it just wasn’t as good as I’d hoped and expected it to be.  I gave it 3/5 stars.

6.  Revenge of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz finished 1/12–I love Isabel Spellman and her wacky family.  I picked up the first book on a whim off of a Border’s sale shelf, and after reading it kicked myself for not picking up the other 2 books that had been sitting next to it.  I love the formatting (not every book could get away with it), the funny footnotes, and of course, Rae and her precocious attitude.  4/5 stars

7.  The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater finished 1/18–after reading The Scorpio Races, I was dying to read this book.  However, once I got about 1/4 of the way through it, I had to continually force myself to continue reading it.  Part of it I blame on discovering the fact that my Amazon Prime Student account had renewed when it shouldn’t have ($39 vs the normal $80), but part of it was just that this book was…freaking boring.  And while I realize that this is going to be a series, there’s a line between leaving enough loose ends to continue a series and just being freaking lazy and not finishing the damn thing, and this book feels like it falls into the second category.  I gave it a generous 3/5 stars, because despite it’s boringness and flaws (there is quite a bit of head hopping without warning) it was still well written.

8.  The Complete Monster Exchange Program by Terri Bogard finished 1/19–This book was so much fun!  It’s a collection of short stories that go from being after school special to downright creepy.  I originally read 3 of the stories around halloween, and was contacted by the author if I wanted the whole set.  Of course, I jumped at the chance and finally managed to read the entire book.  Loved it!  4/5 stars

9.  The Spellmans Strike Again by Lisa Lutz finished 1/22–This one wasn’t as good as the previous books–the plotlines are disjointed and seem to wrap up a little *too* neatly.  However, I did still enjoy it and am looking forward to reading the next installment.  4/5 stars.

10.  Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen finished 1/24–My monthly rental from Amazon from my Prime membership.  I’ve heard great things  about this book, and as I resolved to read books before seeing the movie, I figured this would be a good opportunity to read it if I ever get the chance.  Not a huge fan of Edward Cullen (heh), and the age difference between the two leads in the movie is NOT reflected in the books (Marlena in the book is 22 at most–the same age as the protaganist)…anyway, I really enjoyed the books, and while it’s set during the Great Depression, it’s not a book about that, it’s about circus life.  4/5 stars

11.  Divergent by Veronica Roth finished 1/26–Wow, this book was excellent.  Set in a dystopian future Chicago, Tris must decide which faction she will choose to become part of–her “home” faction of Abnegation, or one of the other four factions.  I really could not put this one down, and gave it 5/5 stars.

12.  Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion finished 1/27–This book falls into the same category as Beauty Queens–I really thought I’d enjoy it more than I did.  The main character R was not…really very zombie like at all (and honeslty, with the exception of the Boneys, most of the zombies weren’t), and his “love interest” really didn’t react as she should have to being “kidnapped” by a pack of zombies and kept in an airplane for like a week.  Personally, I would have gone out of my mind within a few hours, not gone wandering around the airport looking for edible food.  3/5 stars

13.  Wicked Women of the 19th Century by Sylvia Perini–a novella detailing the lives and crimes of about 8 women serial killers that operated in the 19th century.  The subject matter was interesting, but the writing was atrocious.  There were many grammer mistakes and even a few word and factual errors that made the book hard to read.  For example, one sentence read something like “After 18 years of marriage and 6 kids, So and So lost his job where he worked.”  Okay…what does the first part of the sentence have to do with the rest of it?  2/5 stars, and that was being generous.

14.  The Disresputible History of Frankie Landau-Banks by e.lockhart–wow, I loved this book!  Set in a boarding school (who doesn’t love books set in boarding schools), Frankie is determined to prove she’s just as good as the guys when she realises that she won’t be allowed to join the secret society her father so loves to talk about.  While I was a fan of the way the ending was written (it reads almost like a “where are they now” thing you see at the end of some movies), the book was really fun to read.  4/5 stars.

Currently reading:  Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl–I kind of want to steal Ethan’s map idea and start marking the places I’ve read about on a map of the world.  😀

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/02/06/from-my-kindle-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Water for Elephants is one of my all-time favorite books! I loved it so much more than the movie — even though I do like Robert Pattinson!

    • I really enjoyed it, and I’m glad it was available to “rent” from the Kindle Lending Library–there’s really not a LOT in the way of bestsellers (yeah, it does offer the Hunger Games Trilogy, but that’s just to lure people in :D). I really liked that they included pictures from different circuses around the country, too.

  2. I LOVED Cinder! Such an entertaining read. Also, I love that idea to mark up a map with the places you’ve read about. I may not physically travel, but I travel a ton in books!

    • We’ve probably been everywhere in books, haven’t we? 😀


Add to the flood

