Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors

Top Ten TuesdayWelcome to Tuesday, my friends!  This weekend kicked my butt, but I’m ready to hop back into the bookish lifestyle and the best way to do that is to write about books, right?  Right?

Top Ten Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List

1.  Marissa Meyer–I just finished up Scarlet, and eagerly awaiting the next installment of the Lunar Chronicles.  Cinder was awesome, Scarlet was even *more* awesome.  Can’t wait to see exactly what happens in the next book.

2.  George RR Martin–I’m completely enthralled by Game of Thrones, and I love the intricate stories that Martin has intertwined in his world of Westeros.

3.  Kim Harrison–LOVE her Hallows series, and I’m really interested in reading her YA series, as well.  The only thing keeping me from actually buying that series is the fact that I already have way too much to read, but I have been known to pick up the Hallows books even though I’m 3 behind already….:D

4.  My friends–have to support my friends!  I’m lucky in the fact that I have several published author friends and that I can go out and buy their books.  I have Awakenings by DS Toles, Gift of the Dreamtime by Kelley Harrell, Spookygirl:  Paranormal Investigator by Jill Baguchinsky, On the Downbeat by Kylan Toles, and Zion’s Crossing by HT Barkman.  LOVE being able to read my friends’ books so much!

5.  Lisa Lutz–author of the Spellman novels, which are crazy and zany and just…so much fun!  I just can’t get enough of Isabel and her strange, wonderful family of PIs.  I think I’m caught up on actually *having* the books that are out…now just to actually get to reading them!

6.  Libba Bray–having devoured the Gemma Doyle books and somewhat enjoyed Beauty Queens, I find that I enjoy Bray’s writing style and sense of humor.  I have a copy of the Diviners on my Kindle, and I’ll be reading it as soon as I get through all of my “hey I got this for free I really need to read/review it!” books.

7.  Kendare Blake–I fell in love with Anna Dressed in Blood, and can’t wait to add more of her books to my collection!  I know the second book is out, so I need to get on that!

8.  Meg Cabot–she writes so many different types of books, from YA to paranormal to chic lit and more!  It’s so hard to keep up with everything she writes, but I try!

9.  Jeff Lindsay–author of the Dexter books, and one of the few series my husband and I can agree on.  Generally I’ll get him the book for his birthday or Christmas, but then I get to read it, as well.  🙂

10.  Lee Child–see above.  I LOVE the Reacher books, they’re so…immediate, and awesome.  As is Jack Reacher.  Don’t judge him by the terrible movie where he’s played by Tom Cruise!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/02/26/top-ten-tuesday-favorite-authors/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Agree with your list 100%. I didn’t list Martin because for me he’s sort one of those I read a few years ago and didn’t keep up with up him. Meyer and Lindsay are two authors I keep meaning to check out, but don’t.

    • I really enjoy both the Dexter books and the TV show, but I have to remember that now they are completely different entities, they just happen to have characters with the same names. 😀

  2. The Diviners was one of my favorites from last year. I need to read her Gemma Doyle books too! Great list.
    My Top Ten

    • I read about 4 pages of the Diviners a while back, but then I put it down because I have a bunch of books I recieved for free, and I figured I needed to get those read/reviewed before I read something else, but Diviners is top of my list when those books are done!!

  3. Marissa Meyer made my list as well! Havent made it through Cinder yet but I’m enthralled and I know I’ll be flying through Scarlet!

    • I read a few reviews that said that Scarlet was better than Cinder, which I didn’t know if that could be true…but it WAS. Scarlet was fantastic, can’t wait to see what she does with Cress!

  4. My co-blogger LOVED The Diviners! We both Loved Anna Dressed in Blood!

    Awesome list!

    Our TTT

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

    • Anna Dressed in Blood was one of my favorite reads from last year.

      thanks for stopping by!

  5. Marissa Meyer! *does a dance* Great pick. And I do love Meg Cabot, too, but I haven’t read enough of her work to make her an auto-buy yet.

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2013/02/top-10-tuesday-my-top-auto-buy-authors.html

    • I want the next two books in the Lunar Chronicles NOW NOW NOW NOW NOW can i have them please 😀

      thanks for stopping by!

  6. I really need to pick up Libba Bray and Marissa Meyer! I keep hearing how wonderful their books are 🙂 Oh, and I wish I’d have put Kendare Blake on my list as well 🙂 Great choices!
    Thanks for stopping by on Tuesday and sorry for getting back to you so late :/

    • Better late than never 😀

      LOVE both of them, they’re such fantastic authors!

  7. These are still mid range skills, and they improve upon other skills with additional
    destruction. The early reviews of the Play – Book are mostly glowing, and if RIM really does have a hit device
    here, it would be smart to get it onto as many carriers as possible.
    That’s the only way to keep your building safe from further damages and complications.


Add to the flood

