Feb-Write-Ary wrap up

It’s over, it’s over, it’s oooover, Feb-Write-Ary is over!  I set my goal at 10,000 words, and I just barely scraped past that.  A lot of what I wrote was blog posts, but as I’ve wanted to write more in both my personal journal and here, I count that as a success!  I also managed to put a couple thousand words onto the campfire story I started over the summer.  I got the idea for it while I was out walking my dog, and as soon as we got home, I sat down and wrote the first 1,000 words on it, then didn’t bother to touch it until this month.

I didn’t manage to even open Wolf Girl 2, but that’s okay, that’s what March is for.  I’m very close to the end of it, thankfully!  I think I have less than 3,000 words to do, and 700 of those words are already written, they just have to be inserted into the right place.

So, from a standpoint of writing, Feb-Write-Ary was very successful for me.  I met my goal, and while I didn’t actually complete any of my goals (finish WG2, finish the campfire story, finish another story that I’ve been working on), I did get a lot of work done on one of them.  Hopefully I can keep up the momentum on that story and then transfer it to Wolf Girl.

I really enjoyed this exercise, and I like that instead of the full month commitment that NaNoWriMo is–I tried to do Camp NaNo last summer, and it just didn’t work very well.  I think I can only handle one HUGE month of writing a year.  This broke it up into a more manageable chunk of time, and I got to set my own goal.  I went conservative and only set my goal at 10,000 words, but next year I will probably go higher, to 15,000 or 18,000 words.  Push myself a bit more.  Looking forward to that!

Have you written anything interesting in the last two weeks?

Published in: on March 1, 2013 at 10:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/feb-write-ary-wrap-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Add to the flood

