From my Kindle #6

1.  Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl finished 2/5–LOVED this book.  While I saw some comments on Goodreads about Ethan not being a true male narrator (and really, he’s kind of not), the writing and the story are enough to make up for that weak point.  I love Lena and her crazy family with their different powers.  I think the only thing that bothered me about the book was the insistence of using Caster instead of witch.  It comes off as pretentious and condescending.  They’re witches, okay?  4/5 stars, and can’t wait to pick up the rest of the series!

2.  Paper Dolls (Dollhouse #2) by Anya Allyn finished 2/7–I picked up the first book, Dollhouse, when it was free for the Kindle and enjoyed the crap out of it.  I was excited to see that the sequel had finally been released.  However, between my reading of Dollhouse and Paper Dolls, the author had reworked and rereleased Dollhouse, taking the last 6-7 chapters of Dollhouse and making them the first 6-7 chapters of Paper Dolls.  That was confusing and a bit disappointing, but I can understand the change, as one of my critiques of the original book was the ending was too abrupt, and the change solved that issue.  Paper Dolls deals with the history of the girl in the underground dollhouse while also following Cassie and her friends as they search for answers about things they learned after being rescued.  This trilogy is awesome, and now I can’t wait for the release of the final book!  4/5 stars

3.  Shatter Me by Taherah Mafi finished 2/9–Oh Em Gee.  This book was…in a word…terrible.  It just proves why you can’t have an insane person as a narrator, it makes the book damn near unreadable.  I can understand why so many people love this book, but the writing style just killed it for me, and I won’t be continuing on in the series.  I also don’t care if she ends up with Adam or Warner, as neither one of them made much of an impression on me.

4.  The Wizard of Oz by SD Stuart finished 2/19–steampunk Wizard of Oz.  I received this as an arc with the understanding I’d review it by a certain date.  It was quite a different take on the Wizard of Oz, with an older, blonder Dorothy, Auntie Em and Uncle Henry running a training school, airships, automatons, and Victorian sensibilities.  OZ is actually the Outcast Zone, located in Australis, and Dorothy steals away on an airship in order to find her father, who was kidnapped years earlier.  Missing is Toto, but most of the rest of the familiar characters are there, if in different incarnations.  The only issue I really had with the book was how….flip floppy Caleb was–you could never tell whose side he was actually on from page to page.  4/5 stars, and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series!

5.  Super Zombie Juice Mega Bomb:  The Graphic Novel by MJ Ware finished 2/19–a middle grade book about a zombie infestation.  It’s a bit longer than I would have expected for middle grade fiction, and the characters are a bit older than I would expect, but overall, it was a fun book (they take over a walmart and use lemonade to neutralize the zombies).  I do have to say, though, adding illustrations to your book does not exactly make it a graphic novel…4/5 stars

6.  Scarlet by Marissa Meyer finished 2/22–the sequel to Cinder, it was better than the first book!  Little Red Riding Hood rewritten, and set in France.  While I was disappointed at how long it took to actually get Cinder and Scarlet to hook up together, it was still an excellent book, and do I really have to wait until 2014 for Cress? 5/5 stars

7.  The Wanderers by Jessica Miller finished 2/26–ugh, this book was a hot mess, honestly.  I won it from a giveaway on a blog, and it sounded interesting from the review the blogger did of it, but…apparently that blogger had a higher tolerance for errors, word misuse, and tense shifting than I do.  It made the book almost impossible to read, and then on top of that you had a hot mess of a plot that meandered all over the place and didn’t actually *get* to the actual story until about 50 pages from the end.  Stay far, far away from this one unless you like trainwrecks.  I gave it 2/5 stars, but only because I finished it.

8.  Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake finished 2/27–the second and final book in the Anna Dressed in Blood series.  I enjoyed this book about as much as I enjoyed the first one, which was immensely!  Cas is on the hunt to find Anna, wherever she ended up after the end of the first book (trying to avoid major spoilers for the first book here…:D).  I don’t think his dad was dealt with properly at all, but as a whole I really enjoyed this book and gave it 5/5 stars.

9.  Richard Castle’s Deadly Storm, a graphic novel, finished 2/27–one of my rare comic books.  I’ve been curious to see how they’d handle the “famous” Derrick Storm, especially in graphic novel form.  After my disastrous attempt to read a Richard Castle book (I’m a HUGE fan of the show, and of Nathan Fillion) where I DNF’d Heat Wave with just 10 pages to go, I’ve been wary of anything else ABC puts out under the name of Richard Castle.  I did, however, really enjoy this, and I’ll probably be reading the second one here shortly.  3/5 stars, mostly because I’m not a graphic novel fan.

10.  How to be a Super Villan by Rachel Yu finished 2/28–a children’s picture book I picked up for free.  It was adorably cute and the artwork was amazing!  I read in one of the Goodreads reviews that Rachel is/was only 15 when she published it, and it was a good book for an adult writer, so the fact it was written AND illustrated by a teenager makes it even MORE fantastic.  Check it out if you like cute children’s picture books and super villans.  4/5 stars

11.  Never Have I Ever by Sara Shepherd finished 2/28–book two in the Lying Game series.  It’s a little confusing to figure out what’s going on at times, as Shepard switches narrators between Emma and her dead twin sister without any warning, but like Pretty Little Liars, this is a good, gossipy, mean girl read.  Books like these and a lot of Meg Cabot books are my guilty pleasures.  3/5 stars

Currently reading:  Mayfair by Alysia Gray Painter (received for free from Forever Young Adult, along with its sequel Redwoodian), a friend’s manuscript, and Two Truths and a Lie by Sara Shepherd

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/from-my-kindle-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Add to the flood

