Top Ten Tuesday: New Series

Top Ten TuesdayIt’s that wonderful day of the week again–TUESDAY!  I’ve been having a horrible computer month, though, so I’m thankful that I’m still able to type this on my computer and not say…my phone or my Kindle.  Typing on the Kindle is hoorrrible!  The poor thing, I’ve dropped it one too many times and it has this bad habit of shutting down completely if I move it wrong (probably from a loose wire from being dropped) which is NOT good for a computer, and then on Sunday my power cord broke completely–the “head” that attaches to the computer twists somewhat freely, which means that the wires are snapped in there.  I’m currently using the power cord from my *last* laptop, but it’s less wattage (65W vs 80W).

Anyway, enough about my computer woes, onto the list!  This week we’re delving into series that we would LIKE to start reading.  I think this might be hard for me, but I’ll muddle through.  I hate not listing 10 (because it is, after all, a top ten list), but this one…I may not hit 10.

Top Ten Series I’d Like To Start But Haven’t Yet

1.  Delirium by Lauren Oliver–does this series have a name?  I can’t find it if it does.  I’ve heard so many good things about this series, and about Lauren Oliver’s books in general.  Plus, it’s being made into a TV series, so I need to start this soon so I can read it BEFORE the TV series comes out.

2.  The Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chyma–I’m still kicking myself for not making sure I met her at the Buckeye Book Fair a couple of years ago (she was at lunch while we were there), and then missing her again a few months ago when she came to a local library.  She’s a local author in the sense that she’s from my state, and I LOVE reading authors from my state, like Casey Daniels (the Pepper Martin Mysteries series) and Jennifer Crusie.  She’s also put out quite a few books, so she’ll have me reading for quite a while!

3.  Uglies by Scott Westerfield–I picked up book 2 at a library sale last year, and finally managed to find a copy of Uglies, as well.  I also have a copy of Leviathan that I need to read, as well.

4.  The Grimm Diaries prequels by Cameron Jace–this keeps popping up as my #1 recommended book when I log into the store on my Kindle.  It’s also available for Amazon Prime users for free, and I haven’t picked out my March book yet…so this may be it.  Plus, it’s my newest favorite “genre” of fairytale retellings!

5.  1-800-WHERE-R-YOU by Meg Cabot–I love pretty much anything Meg Cabot does.  Her books are such fast, fun reads that it’s really hard to put one of her books down without actually finishing it first!

6.  The Ruby Oliver novels by e.lockhart–I read The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks in January and *loved* it, and I’m really looking forward to meeting Ruby Oliver!

7.  The Iron Butterfly series by Chanda Hahn–I’ve read a couple of Chanda Hahn’s books, and they were pretty good, so I’m looking forward to reading this series, as well!  Chanda is an author I discovered by downloading too many books off the Kindle Top 100 list.  Sometimes I do find some gems in there!

8.  Bloodsucking Fiends by Christopher Moore–my husband got me book #3 in this series for Christmas, so now I have to locate copies of books #1 and 2.  Actually, I think I’d like to read *anything* by Christopher Moore.  His book covers are sooo freaking cool looking, and he comes highly recommended by several friends.

9.  Tales of the 500 Kingdoms by Mercedes Lackey–this is one of the few of her series that I haven’t read, and I’d really like to.  I haven’t picked up the latest Heralds of Valdemar books, either, but I’ve not heard very good things about them, so I’m not going to go out of my way to get them.

10.  Madison Avery series by Kim Harrison–Kim Harrison’s YA series of books.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Hallows series, and when I found out she was doing YA books as well, I was ecstatic.  Now, to find the time to actually *read* the books…

I did it!  I made it to 10!  Yay!  What series are you looking forward to starting?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/top-ten-tuesday-new-series/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s just called the Delirium trilogy as far as I’m aware — and today is the publication date for the final book (!!!) so you can read them straight through if you want. I’m very intrigued to see how the TV show turns out — I hope they do a good job with it! I haven’t read any of you other choices, but I do highly recommend Delirium 🙂

    • I read the EW article on Lauren Oliver last week, and she said that they’re introducing all the characters pretty much at once, instead of how they are in the series (like characters that are only in book 3 will be present right away), just because that’s the way they needed to do it to make the series viable. So, we’ll see. I also figure that I have a while to go, because this is probably not going to show up til at the earliest fall of this year. 🙂

      • That’s an interesting development I wasn’t aware of…it could work though, and if I’ve read all the books, I probably won’t mind too much. And you’re right, we definitely have quite some time to wait still!

  2. I’ve read the first two books in the Ruby Oliver series and I have a feeling you will like them. I look forward to you reading the Bloodsucking Fiends books to hear your opinion. I read the first one and did not love it the way I loved Lam and A Dirty Job. I wonder if I would have liked it more had I not read (and loved) the other two. Melissa liked Bloodsucking Fiends more than I did.

    • I just wish my husband would stop buying me books 3,4, or 5 of series! It’s reaaaaaaally annoying because I read the back and I’m like…”THIS SOUNDS AWESOME…oh wait, it’s BOOK 3.” He’s started doing it on purpose, too. Ugh! 😀 😀 😀

      • That is so not cool — bad hubby! Then again, it’s an excuse to go pick up the earlier books…

  3. I’ve only ready Delirium from your list but I can tell you it was awesome! I have the next book on my shelf to start that I need to get to!

    • that’s always the problem, having so many good books to read and not enough time to read them all as fast as we’d like!!

  4. Hi! I’ve nominated you on Liebster Award! Check out my blog for more info! http://bringmorebooks.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/liebster-award/

  5. Oooo – Delerium sounds fun! I read 1-800-Where-Are-You – LOVE Meg Cabot! I just finished Pretties…not sure how I feel about reading Specials, but see what you think. I’m curious, but I need a break from Tally. Great list! Thanks for visiting my TTT

    • I pretty much love anything Meg Cabot does (well, except for books 6-9 of the Princess Diaries…I spent those wanting to throttle Mia lol), so I’m excited to read that series. I *really* need to get to Delerium, but I have some “required” reading to get through first on my Kindle. 😀


Add to the flood

