Top Ten Tuesday: Gotta Have it

Top Ten TuesdayYup, it’s that wonderful day of the week again, Tuesday!  Brought to us by the girls over at The Broke and the Bookish (clicking on the above graphic will take you there), Top Ten Tuesday lets us bare our bookish souls.
This week is a topic I’m sure people think about every time they walk past their bookshelf–books that were MUST HAVE NOWs that are still…unread.  Their spines uncreased, their pages untouched.  But had to have it right then omg!

Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

1.  The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern–I’ve wanted to read this pretty much since it came out, and when I ordered my husband’s birthday present from Amazon in late September, I also ordered myself a copy of this.  And it’s still sitting on my shelf unread, and has even been on TWO TBR lists (both fall and spring) because I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

2.  The Plains of Passage by Jean M Auel–probably my longest “must have but is still unread”.  I think I may have actually started it a time or two, but something always stops me from reading past the first chapter.  I think, at the moment, what’s keeping me from reading it is the sheer size–I have soo many books to read that I could read 4 in the time it would take me to read this one!

3. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien–okay, while I technically did not buy this (friends gave me a really nice leather-bound edition along with a really nice leather-bound edition of the trilogy as a bridesmaid’s gift for their wedding), I still haven’t read it, and like The Night Circus, it has also made it onto 2 TBR lists.

4.  Impact by Douglas Preston–I, as a habit, will generally pick up anything written by Preston&Child, whether it be their collaborations or their stand alones.  I picked up Impact over a year ago after a book club meeting because it was on the clearance shelf at Barnes and Noble.

5.  Rhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig–picked this up at an estate sale over the summer, and paid way too much for it (I still keep thinking that they should have garage sale prices…and when I say I paid too much, I paid $2 for it).  I didn’t realize that Margaret Mitchell’s estate had authorized *another* Gone with the Wind related novel…you’d think they’d have learned their lesson with Scarlett!

6.  several of the Hallows series by Kim Harrison–a friend sent me an arc of A Perfect Blood, which was cool, but I was also 2-3 books behind at that point (I had already picked up Pale Demon, though), which meant…yup, had to go out and get the ones I was missing so I could read the arc.  As with The Night Circus and the Hobbit, this set of books has also been on 2 TBR lists…

7.  My Very Dearest Anna by Kara Martinelli–another book I technically didn’t buy, my husband did.  This was also compiled by a friend of ours, and she’s read *my* book, and I just haven’t gotten to hers yet…oops!

8.  Envy by Anna Godberson–it was the LAST copy on BAM’s teen clearance section, so I just haaaaaaaad to get it so I didn’t miss out on it!  Of course, the next time I went in to BAM, there were three copies on the shelf…heh!  But still, LOVE the Luxe series, and I don’t know why I haven’t read this one yet!

9.  A Lion Among Men by Gregory Macguire–another book snatched from a clearance shelf, it even made it onto one of my “shelf of 10” shelves…and I *still* didn’t read it!  I think some of that had to do with the fact it was actually book 11 of 10 (heh), and by that point I was just tired of reading a set amount of books.

10.  The Secret Country by Pamela Dean–I didn’t buy this, I picked it up at last year’s Reading Festival, but I also remember telling someone that I’d read it then pass it on to her.  It’s been over a year since that Festival…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/top-ten-tuesday-gotta-have-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The Night Circus is pretty good. I haven’t read the Hobbit yet, but am planning on doing it pretty soon because I want to read LOTR as well and you have to read the hobbit before you read them.

    • I just started The Night Circus (this list inspired me :D), and I think The Hobbit will be my next read, since it’s coming out on DVD like…next week!

      • I’m so glad. I wish I could be as inspired but I have a few R2R’s to do before I can get to my own list *sigh*

      • I find that if I instersperse/flop back and forth between R2Rs and want to reads, I actually get more read that way. Kind of…dangling a carrot in front of myself. 😀 I’m currently reading Wilfiar, and while it’s a good story and really cute, I’m having a hard time getting it read because it’s a really smug, self centered, i really think i’m funnier than i am kind of novel, if you know what i mean. 😀

      • I do!
        And I wish I could mix them up. But the good news is. I am down to like 2 or 3 of them so should be breathing easier in a while.

  2. I hope you’ll read The Night Circus soon, it’s such a magical book, and I hope you’ll enjoy it! And The Hobbit was a fun read, but I haven’t read the others, but most of them are on my tbr, so great list!

    • I wrote this post like…last thursday, and started it the next day. I’m only about 80 pages in though. 😀 I do like it!

  3. The Hobbit was a GREAT and easy read. It made me want to buy the LoTR books actually and read them. I have A Lion Among Men on my list of books I purchased but haven’t gotten to yet. I’ve become fascinated with the story of Oz. And not because of the recent movie! I also bought all 15 books by L. Frank Baum recently.

    • I’ve read about…10 of Baum’s books, plus the Return to Oz novelization, and several other Oz books. LOVE Oz! I enjoyed the new movie, but there were some things that could have been better….like a better Oz…:D

  4. I was surprised how easy it was for me to read The Night Circus! I really wasn’t expecting to finish it at all. I have mixed feelings on it but they do have lovely descriptions of food…

    • I actually started The Night Circus (finally!), and I dunno how I feel about the flipping back and forth between the past and…the reader? I don’t like that they’re both present tense, it just doesn’t make the book flow right.

  5. ^^^ I like how Elena liked the food in the Night Circus (MUST CONCUR). The Night Circus might be meandering in plot, but it really does have the most beautiful imagery and clever turn of phrases.

    The only other book I read on your list is The Hobbit, which, as your probably know, is crazy good (considering they’re making the movie into a gazillion parts). ALSO your friend is amazing. A leather-bound edition of The HOBBIT FOR A BRIDESMAID GIFT? ::fans self::

  6. I also have the Night Circus to read!

    My Top Ten!

    • I can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, after being soooo excited to get it in the mail!

  7. I’ve only read The Hobbit last summer and I was glad I did because it’s a great book. And I cannot wait for more movies. Happy reading!

    My TTT

    • I wish I’d gotten to see The Hobbit in theaters, but it’s so hard to get my husband to the movies, especially to movies like that. At least this way I can plan when I want to read the book before seeing the movie, though. 🙂

  8. Oh, I also need to read The Night Circus badly, as well. I’ve heard some mixed things, but I think I will like it. It’s funny that several of the books on your list have ended up on more than oneTBR lists! The Hobbit is one that should be relatively quick to get through. Good luck to you! And thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog earlier!

    • it’s pretty good so far (I actually did start it :D)! I think after I finish it, I’m going on to the Hobbit. Yay for crossing books off the TBR list!

  9. Oh, I love The Hobbit. And Rhett Butler. I love Rhett Butler, but I don’t know if I would like that book. Haha.

    • I looked up the reviews on Goodreads, and they read about the same as reviews for Scarlett–some people liked it, some people hated it, some people were indifferent. 😀

      • I just read the book synopsis again and am thinking about giving it a try. Because, like I said, I love Rhett. Hahaha.

      • I think I’ll probably like it–I did, after all, like Scarlett, even if I think of it more of a stand alone novel than an actual Gone with the Wind sequel. 😀

      • Yeah, I know what you mean. I don’t think I’ll ever look at anything like a “sequel”.

  10. I love The Night Circus! I definitely recommend it. It’s very imaginative and is one of the most unique books I’ve read.

    Tolkien is my favorite author, so I support reading The Hobbit, as well.


Add to the flood

