Interlude: Draw Something

So, I’ve been playing a lot of Draw Something lately.  As most of my friends have abandoned the game, I have to rely on the “random opponent” button to find people to play with.  As with most random stuff that involves real people, it’s a crapshoot.  I’ve got a couple of people that we’ve been playing back and forth for over a month straight, and while we can’t *always* guess everything the other person draws, we do pretty well and have a good time.  Of course, you do get the people who draw one or two things then disappear, and the people who think that the game is called “Write Something”.  Um, the game is DRAW something, stop writing out the words (don’t get me wrong, I know sometimes the word choices are just…bad, and it’s easier to just write out the word.  I don’t mind that, I just mind when the person writes out every single word they get, and I’ll just end the game).  And then I’ve had the people who spell HEART HART or HERT and then give up, and the guy who said “I have no EDEA how to draw this”.  Edea?  Um…

My favorite, though, is this girl (I’m assuming girl by the username she selected).  For the most part, her drawings aren’t the greatest, but you can figure out what she’s trying to draw, and she’s *okay* at guessing what I draw.  But yesterday I got a drawing that looked like this:

draws1

Any guesses as to what she was trying to draw?  It’s a 6 letter word, and I don’t remember the exact letter combination that Draw Something gave me.  I tried rouge, but I think I was missing the e, and it didn’t have enough letters, there was no CH for cheek, not enough letters for blush.  I was stumped.  I also didn’t want to waste a bomb on a drawing like this, so I just gave up.
Have you given up?  The word I was trying to guess was TONGUE.  Yup.  That red blob underneath the eye is *obviously* the tongue!
So, I may have said something along the lines of “um, if you’d actually drawn a mouth with a tongue in it instead of some random squiggles on the cheek, I could have guessed that.”  Usually, I don’t complain about other people’s drawings–I’m a terrible drawer myself–but this was just…ugh.  My dog could have drawn better than that.
Apparently she didn’t like my critique of her work (heh), so she replied with “I was in a hurry and I can draw whatever I want.”  Which is true, you *can* draw whatever you want, but people aren’t going to play with you if they can’t guess what you’re trying to draw.  I ended a game a couple of weeks ago with a guy because he would draw a yellow blob for just about every word he got.  That’s just not my idea of fun.
Well, I figured if she can dial it in, so can I, so I drew this for my next word:

draws2

It’s another 6 letter word, any guesses?  Well, here’s a hint:  those are some medium sized rodents hanging out in orange shag carpeting.  😀  Still no clue?  Okay, they’re…rugrats.  Badum ching!
I figure I’ll keep picking the hardest word and drawing goofy thing and see how long she puts up with it.  I haven’t seen a game from her yet, so we’ll see.  Perhaps she’ll just ignore me from now on, who knows.  I hope she doesn’t, though, because this could be fuuuuuuuuun!

So if you’re a Draw Something addict like me, and want to laugh at my hilariously bad drawings and try to guess what I’m trying to draw, you can always start a game with me!  My user name is Marzipan9, or you can leave your username in the comments and I’ll start a game with you!  The above rugrats are a pretty good indicator of how I draw, though not all of them are visual puns like that.  🙂

Published in: on March 25, 2013 at 10:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/interlude-draw-something/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Is it bad or good that I guessed tongue right away?

    • better than me, I had *no* idea. I don’t usually say anything, but I think this was the 2nd or 3rd drawing in a row that she’d drawn something indecipherable and I was just annoyed. 😀


Add to the flood

