From My Kindle #7

1+2.  Dreamfever and Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moaning finished 3/5 and 3/10–Dang I love this series!  Mac is still trying to defend Dublin and the world from the Unseelie, and is getting hints about her true identity.  The only sour notes in these books was the chapters told from Dani’s point of view–I didn’t find them necessary, and in the case of Shadowfever, just bogged down an already long book.  However, I was satisfied with the end of the series and am looking forward to Iced!  4/5 stars each

3.  Medicine Men:  Extreme Appalachian Doctoring by Carolyn Jourdan finished 3/13–a short collection of stories told to Carolyn by small town, mountain doctors, as well as anecdotes of her own growing up as the daughter of one of those doctors and as being his secretary after her mom falls ill.  A fun, fast read, and I’m interested in picking up more of her work!  4/5 stars

4.  Delerium by Lauren Oliver finished 3/ 14–Wow, this was a great book.  Treating love as a disease and curing everyone of it by essentially lobotomizing the entire population.  I did wonder what the point was, though, of telling the story from the point of view of someone who actually *wants* The Procedure instead of someone like Hana.  It all worked out in the end, and I’m seriously looking forward to Pandemonium!  4/5 stars

5.  Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia finished 3/17–the second book in the Beautiful Creatures series.  While I didn’t enjoy it as much as the original, I still devoured it whole.  I love that they didn’t stay in Gatlin for the entirety of this book, but branched out and visited other areas.  It was neat how the tunnels could compress and lengthen time, making their journey to Savannah take a lot less time than it should have.  4/5 stars

6.  The Boyfriend List by e. lockhart finished 3/22–I think I enjoyed Frankie quite a bit more, but Ruby was still quite a trip.  I loved her lists of boys, including the one who doesn’t actually exist, and how she debated adding her teacher onto the list or not, because…well, is it creepy or just being a typical teen?  Great book, looking forward to reading more about Ruby!  4/5 stars

7.  The Red Gorilla of Oz by Richard Capwell finished 3/24–this showed up as a freebie one day, so I took a chance and downloaded it.  I loved the original Oz books by Frank L Baum (I don’t think I’ve manage to read all 14, but I know I’ve read at least 10 of them), so I figured why not, right?  It was okay–there were things that could have been better, but I think it stayed pretty true to Baum’s original series.  Oh, and…um Glinda is not the Good Witch of the North?  Erm…3/5 stars

8.  The Grimm Diaries Prequels 1-6 by Jace Cameron–an interesting take on fairy tales, with a really dark twist.  I enjoyed most of the 6 books, but I highly recommend skipping Mary Mary Quite Contrairy…that one was just…really really bad.  It was told from the point of view of a very, um, teenage modern Devil, and just…didn’t work.  At all.  3/5 stars

I’m still working on Wilfair by Alysia Grey Painter –I’m waffling back and forth about DNF’ing this book, as it was way too smart and quirky for its own good.  The characters are funny, the story interesting, it’s just…a really smug book, if books could have feelings.  We’ll see.  It’s been, honestly, 2 weeks since I even opened it, so I may have already decided to DNF it, I just haven’t made it official yet.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://callusedfingers.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/from-my-kindle-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Add to the flood

